a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Beginnings and endings.

with 4 comments

Endings

Just today I finished knitting a scarf. It was a quite boring knit, with only two rows of pattern that were very, very repetitive. I felt like it would never end, but it finally did, and I’m quite pleased with it. It’s made of Malabrigo laceweight wool, so I’ll have to see if I can actually wear it or not, but if I can’t and it gives me the itches, then I’ll be happy to give it away to someone else (maybe even for FSM!). It’s a gorgeous deep blue, like the sea during a stormy evening.

Fringed scarf

Yes, it’s so pretty, and Malabrigo is incredibly soft and gorgeous, and I actually added fringe to it! I rarely add fringe to my scarves, but this one was just so plain that I had to add something to the edges to make it more interesting. I must say that the fringe is definitely gorgeous and it makes the scarf really quite lovely now, instead of boring.

But what’s next to knit? Stitches West is happening this weekend, and I want to go to the Market on Friday so that I can see what they’ve got. The only problem is that I don’t have any projects going right now, so I’m not sure what to buy. I also have yarn that was recently purchased during a going-out-of-business sale and has still not been purposed. I am terrible at finding new projects to start. I really wish I knew more people who appreciated nice knitted scarves and would take the time to care for them and not accidentally wash them in the machine (I have not heard of any horror stories as such, but you never know!). I suppose that I need more demanding friends who will say, “Reese, make me this beautiful *insert knitted item here* please!” and then I will make it for them and they will like it and wear it all the time. Really.

Beginnings: Something to Read

Sunday evening, in a fit of boredom, I walked to the library downtown. Not only is the library gorgeous and ridiculously beautiful, but it has a huge selection of all kinds of books and periodicals. I have been in a cooking spurt, so I went with the intention of getting a few cookbooks, but I also picked up a food-based book called Julie et Julia, by Julie Powell. Of course, the title is actually Julie and Julia, but for some reason I always read it the French way. Strange, I know. I brought it home and promptly twittered/plurked about it and discovered that there is a film coming out based on this book! How interesting, n’est-ce pas? Most of the time, I find out that a film has come out and then I go find the book so I can read the “better version” before I watch the film. (Yes, the book is always better than the film, with perhaps the exception of Guy Maddin’s Cowards Bend the Knee, where the book was written after the film.)

I’ve only started reading the book Julie et Julia, but am already annoyed with the way it is written. I don’t think the writing is as good quality as the stuff I’d been reading right before this, namely Margaret Atwood’s The Blind Assassin, which is beautiful, complex, and gorgeous. Neither is Julie et Julia as well-written as Ruth Reichl’s Garlic and Sapphires. Maybe Powell just doesn’t have the command of English as much as the other two who can send me into blind swoons with just a few sentences.

But enough complaining. I’m going to speed through this book and move on to the next book, The Tipping Point by Malcolm Gladwell. I know that I’m probably behind the times, but I read what I can get my grubbies on.

Beginnings: Yet More Photographers

This past Saturday, I had the lovely chance to meet with a bunch of photographers. It was a blast, a complete blast! I really enjoyed meeting them, especially one woman named Fiona who does very interesting photographs and we got into a conversation about portraitature and self-portraiture. It was so interesting hearing what she thought about it. After looking over her work, I would be very interested in seeing how she would want to shoot me. Ha, I should probably contact her about going out together or something. I don’t know why, but I really like it when other people take a photo of me. Maybe it’s narcissistic of me, but I really feel like it’s a good way to see how others see me, and perception really intrigues me.

Random Bit:

Oh right, I wanted to share this photo which is my favourite shot of my cousin. I know it’s not technically strong or anything, but I really like it for how dreamy it looks.

The stuff of dreams

That’s all.

Written by Reese

February 23, 2009 at 11:46 pm

Posted in making, shooting

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 1. Gorgeous, gorgeous scarf!!!!!! (I must learn to knit, but have a too demanding hobby already…)

    2. All those books you’ve mentioned sound interesting. I want to read them all, but alas, I don’t even read my next TBR item… (You really should come over, now that all the books are on the cabinet, and see if you can borrow a book or two. Double duty…)

    3. This photo is absolutely amazing. I would love to see more photos on your Flickr…

    Avital

    February 24, 2009 at 1:58 am

  2. The Tipping Point is pretty cool, I think you’ll enjoy it.

    Jeff D

    February 24, 2009 at 1:28 pm

  3. @Taly: Thank you thank you for your lovely comment! Yes, I will have to come over sometime and check out your library to see if I can borrow any books. I’m sorry we haven’t hung out lately, but I’ve been pretty busy.

    @Jeff: Yeah, I’m enjoying it so far!

    Reese

    February 26, 2009 at 2:20 pm

  4. Hey Reese, I’d love to meet you, but I truly understand. I have been busy too. Weeks have been passing by so quickly lately. I am overwhelmed…

    Avital

    February 26, 2009 at 2:38 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

