a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Braining… or triking…

with 9 comments

Since I work up in beautiful San Mateo, I get to take the Caltrain everyday to the office. And now I have had the joy of adding a bike into the mix and doing a bike-train kinda thing. I keep wanting to shorten it but braining or triking just doesn’t sound right to me. I guess I could brain myself to work. That sounds kinda sci-fi doesn’t it?

Ok so several reasons why I don’t just commandeer the car and drive there:

  1. We only have one car. Even though we live 5 miles from Frank’s work, he gets to use the car because… well because. I tried getting him to do the bike commute or to take the lightrail, but he’s just NOT THAT KIND OF GUY, so I just face up to it and let him take the car.
  2. We can’t buy another car. Because my current job is not paying me my usual millionaire engineer salary (because it’s not an engineering job, duh), I just don’t see the point in slapping down the cash for a second car right now. We would have to make all the monthly payments (the current car is already paid off, which is great) and more for insurance and all that.
  3. I actually don’t WANT to drive to work. San Mateo is freakin’ FAR and I’m sorry, but I’m not going to get in the stupid car and sit in traffic more than halfway up the peninsula just so I can have a car at work.
  4. Caltrain is a super comfortable ride and I don’t mind it one bit (except I have to wake up early, but I figure my driving commute would probably be the same time anyway).

So this brings me back to the whole train-riding bit. The bad thing about taking the train is that I live about 2 miles from the station here in SJ and I work in a building about 2 miles away from the station in San Mateo. There is actually a shuttle that will take me from downtown SJ right to the SJ station and then there is another shuttle that will take me from the San Mateo station to my building, but it means I’m at the mercy of the shuttle that runs on a specific schedule.

I don’t want to live according to the shuttle schedule! I want to take the baby bullet that gets me back to SJ in 30 minutes!

Solution: RIDE MY FREAKIN’ BIKE.

Yeah. Today was my very first bike-to-work experience, and I have to say it went pretty darned well. I got a bit lost on the way to the station in the morning, but I made it on a train and made it to work right when I wanted to. On the way home, my thighs were really burning with the hilly bridges in San Mateo (I’m a wuss, I know), but back in SJ I discovered the BEST street to ride home, which has a bike lane all the way to my house. Yeah. It’s pretty damned awesome.

Oh and plus?? I’m going to be INTERNET FAMOUS!!

(Or he was just a random stalker.)

When I got off the train at San Jose, this guy asked me if I knew about the Silicon Valley Bike Coalition and that he wanted to take my photo. I’m guessing he asked me because I’m wearing a girl outfit, aka typical Reese outfit, aka skirt with tights. Yeah. Who can resist a girl on a bike wearing a skirt? I know I can’t! Anyway, he took my photo and got my name and said that I would show up on the website somewhere, which probably meant I’ll never see those photos ever again, but whatever. I’m like famous! Hahaha…

EDIT: Dude… boy was FORREALZZZ… Check it!

Written by Reese

July 1, 2009 at 7:01 pm

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I thought you were famous already…. how about that, lol.

    joygoddess

    July 1, 2009 at 7:24 pm

  2. @JC: Yeah, but not bike coalition famous! Hahaha… this is a whole new underbelly of society.

    Reese

    July 1, 2009 at 7:31 pm

  3. Also, 8 miles / day is a great way to get even more legtastic. It’s like not having to drive a stupid car and a quick workout, all rolled into one.

    ROCKET LEGS FTW!

    If you compare my bike commute time to the time it takes me if I leave at the exact right time to catch the relevant busses from Wireheaddia to WireCorp, you’ll find that the bike is faster and effectively within epsilon of driving.

    Pretty much, I regret all the time I wasted driving to work when I used to go from Sunnyvale to San Mateo.

    Hm. Naw, girls in skirt and tights on bikes? Nope. Can’t resist. I know who that was… because I follow him on twitter and got a blog link off of him once. It’s http://twitter.com/cyclelicious

    Now I’m going to go into a corner and mope for not having any sexy Reesie in skirt and stockings on a bike photos. :(

    wirehead

    July 1, 2009 at 7:43 pm

  4. I love BART + bike. I could probably get to like Caltrain if I lived in the south bay.

    Saw the photo – yay fat tires! Got a few suggestions:

    – If you haven’t put Mr. Tuffys into the tires, do so. They won’t 100% prevent flats but they do help a lot.

    – Get a flat-changing kit together. Levers, mini-pump, stick-on patches, and a spare tube. You may not have to actually learn to fix a flat, they tend to attract helpful folks who will do it for you.

    – Consider a rear rack and pannier. Biking with something hanging from your neck is distracting.

    – I didn’t see a light mount on your handlebar, you will need one in the winter. My current favorites: http://tinyurl.com/ndnzgh http://tinyurl.com/m5eayq

    Jef Poskanzer

    July 2, 2009 at 12:20 am

  5. Hi Reese — here you are!

    Fritz

    July 2, 2009 at 9:30 am

  6. @Wirebikehead: Ok, so when you put it as “8 miles/day” then it suddenly feels way better than “a couple miles here and there” as it kinda feels on my commute. And just like we discussed before, getting myself up and running on a bike commute wasn’t so bad, probably due to the fact that I run regularly. My legs aren’t hurting as much as I was expecting, and I actually find it to be a quite easy commute as long as I go at the speed that my single-speed bike dictates I ride at. And yes, I totally beat the shuttle to work today, so I was feeling pretty good about that.

    @Jef: Hey it’s you! Thanks for the suggestions. I will look into this Mr. Tuffys you speak of and definitely need to carry some on-board bike tools just in case. It’s funny you mention the rear rack because I already told myself that if I’m still biking to work regularly a month from now, I will reward myself with a rear rack so I can strap my bag on (that sounded almost dirty). And yeah, I do have front and rear lights, but I haven’t gotten around to transferring them to this new bike (they were bought for my previous bike back in Boston). Will definitely have to do this as the days start getting shorter.

    @Fritz: Yay!! I’m going to try to take that same train everyday, so hey, you’ll probably see me again.

    Reese

    July 2, 2009 at 9:59 am

  7. cool pix, reese. you’re now famous. we follow fritz/cyclelicious and you now belong to us! :-)

    jack

    July 2, 2009 at 10:15 am

  8. Yep! Whether you like it or not, you are now part of the bicycle commuter blogosphere! Welcome to the limelight. Or something.

    noah

    July 2, 2009 at 10:40 am

  9. @Jack: Yay for being famous. Thanks Fritz!!

    Reese

    July 4, 2009 at 8:03 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

