a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

From Uppity Land to Laid Back Land

with one comment

Every so often, I get into an uppity kind of mood. I overly criticise everything and everyone around me. I get in random arguments over insignificant details. I just get plain uppity.

When I get like this, I think to myself: Someone needs a snack and then some naptime.

That usually fixes everything straight away.

Today I was reading an entry on one of my favourite blogs about how people really need to just lighten the heck up. Ain’t that the truth! I’m going to take the point for myself and amble my way back over to Laid Back Land, where it’s a lot easier to get along with folks (myself included). When I’m living in Laid Back Land, I don’t have to stress out unnecessarily when plans don’t go the exact way I wanted. I don’t have to worry unnecessarily about big life changes. I don’t have to complain and be a giant b*tch to my optimistic friends who are just trying to enjoy our time together.

Basically, my life and the lives of those around me are just better when we’re all in Laid Back Land and we’re considerate and kind to one another.

Yeah. It’s a fantasy land, but it doesn’t have to be.

Lately, I’ve chosen to spend my personal time more wisely. When I want to be alone, I do something constructive and/or creative for myself. When I want to be with others, I try to select optimistic folks who are excited about life and interested in a wide array of topics. It’s just that much easier to be upbeat and genuine around sincere, non-judgmental people.

And you know what else usually saves me from an unexpected trip to Uppity Land? Memories related to the ocean and the beach. I don’t know why, but it calms me faster than any other thing. This weekend, I’m planning to ride my bike to Rodeo Beach so I can get my share of ocean therapy. Nothing like salt spray, cold wind, and the roar of the waves to get my head sorted right fast.

Les folies des enfants

From a trip to Bodega Bay during autumn 2010.

Fran and I watched these two kids drag giant seaweed plants all over the beach. They were trying to move them to the "right" place for some unknown reason.

Written by Reese

February 8, 2011 at 1:22 pm

Posted in just life

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It really is half the time that we need a snack or a nap. :)

    peabody

    February 10, 2011 at 5:53 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

