a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

almost a year.

with 9 comments

Red red red
Under the technicolour umbrella

At the end of this month, I will be celebrating my one-year anniversary for running. Just around Memorial Day last year, I decided to take up running and I’ve somehow managed to actually keep it up since then. This is really embarrassing, but before I started running, I was terrifically out of shape. Getting on the treadmill for 20 minutes used to make me really tired, even just walking somewhat briskly. I had to work up to walking at 4mph, a 15 minute mile. I used to get winded at 3.5mph. That’s sad isn’t it?

I’ve noticed my progress steadily moving along. I can now run at 5.5 mph; it’s been a slow and steady climb from a mere 4.5 mph. It doesn’t sound like a lot, but it’s a huge accomplishment for me. Even now, I think 5.5mph is starting to feel a bit slow, so I’ll have to ramp up to 5.7 or 5.8mph. I’ve gone from running 1-1.5 miles a day to almost getting up to 3 miles a day. That might not really sound like much to people who run a lot, but it’s a huge step up for me, going from zero miles a week to an average of 11 miles a week. Jeez, just saying “11 miles” seems like a lot to me, but it’s not really!

It’s been amazing, to be honest. It never occurred to me that I might be able to push my body to do these things. Other people, maybe, but never me! I just could not understand the idea of setting physical goals and the satisfaction of reaching them. It’s always been a lot easier for me to set more academic or career-oriented goals for my life. This recent experience with setting and reaching fitness goals has been eye-opening. It just proves that my mom was right: I can do anything if I have enough desire.

And now I have a question for you, lovely readers. What should I do to celebrate my little running anniversary? I’ve been thinking about buying myself a new video game (hello GTA4 madness!!) so I can properly celebrate by gluing myself to the TV and sofa for weeks on end. Maybe I will reward myself with earrings or a new bracelet? Hmm… I feel like I should really do something nice for myself.

Written by Reese

May 7, 2008 at 12:13 pm

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow Reese. That is amazing. Your results are amazing as well. Instead of following your steps I am going backwards, but this post has inspired me again.

    To celebrate your accomplishment I would go for the best running shoes e-v-e-r.

    Taly

    May 7, 2008 at 1:49 pm

  2. GET GTA 4. So much mindless fun!!! Leave the jewelry for the Tank to buy you, lol.

    And congrats on your crazy running skills. I know I make fun, but it’s out of love and I’m honestly really impressed. Just don’t tell anyone!

    joygoddess

    May 7, 2008 at 2:15 pm

  3. You’re making fantastic progress! You definitely deserve to be proud and to reward yourself! In keeping with the running theme, how about a new pair of running shoes and a cute outfit to go with it? Okay fine, I’m projecting… that’s what I want! Hee hee :o)

    wildlili

    May 7, 2008 at 2:32 pm

  4. Congratulations on a year of steady progress…you’ve set a great example for others.

    Hmm…rewards…what have you had your eyes on recently? Maybe a day at a spa?

    BTW, your site loads beautifully in IE7. I wish more did.

    NYCinephile

    May 7, 2008 at 2:55 pm

  5. It’s amazing how quickly your body adapts to whatever stresses you place upon it.

    Go ahead and get the game, you know you are still going to jones for your run. It will just provide you with a nice mid-day break from gaming.

    You look great, keep it up. I’m sure the Tank approves! 🙂

    bostonwolf

    May 7, 2008 at 3:06 pm

  6. @Taly: I’m glad I can help inspire you to get back to the gym. I know it feels good after you work out, so it’s great to go, even if you don’t feel like it. Today, I wanted to just laze around, but I got off my ass and went, and it was SO worth it. Hehe.. I already have the best running shoes ever (for me, anyway), so maybe another something…?

    @JC: DUDE… You are SO right. I bow to your wisdom. Haha.. it’s okay to make fun. I know I look like a giant dork on the treadmill, but somehow I just don’t care! Heeeeeeeeey!!

    @Lili: Haha… maybe I do need a cute outfit for running. I run in ugly tshirts and track pants, not magic wicking material at all. In fact, I get pretty gross and sweaty in them. EWW… TMI…

    @Dave-o-matic: A day at the spa is like torture for me, seriously. I thought you knew me better! I have been looking at some camera stuff (of course), but decided I don’t really need anymore gear. I need to work with what I have on hand. Hmm… I’m not really much for material things, so maybe something else? I have no idea…

    @Jefferino: That is exactly what I’m thinking… the more stress you put on your body, the more you adapt to it. Ha… maybe I will go get the game…

    Reese

    May 7, 2008 at 4:11 pm

  7. Mmmmm…… Maybe a stunning new dress or that new bag you were thinking about …

    Taly

    May 7, 2008 at 4:15 pm

  8. Good for you! I think it’s awesome that you’ve stuck with running this long, and no doubt you’ll keep up the progress.

    I think you should get yourself something totally indulgent … A one-week pass from running? A day at the spa? New running shoes and clothes? Whatever feels luxurious and naughty!!

    Rebecca

    May 8, 2008 at 9:04 am

  9. @Taly: Yes, perhaps! I haven’t had anything lately on my mind, but maybe I’ll find something if I look hard enough? Haha…

    @Rebecca: Thank you! It’s been a wonderful year, and I look forward to the next year as well. I’m still trying to figure out what to do, but perhaps a totally luxuriously violent video game is in my future… Frank seems to really like that idea too, of course!

    Reese

    May 8, 2008 at 5:06 pm


Leave a Reply

