a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

what’s happenin.

with 13 comments

Hello readers! How are you doing? Do I even have faithful readers anymore since I don’t update this thing as regularly as I used to? Hmm… well here’s what’s been happening during June, even if only for my own personal reference.

a new place.
Frank and I have moved out of a soul-sucking apartment complex and into a small little house with an actual backyard. Yes, a backyard. We haven’t had one of those in almost a year, and it feels SO good to have it back again. We’re planning to do a bit of BBQing and I might even learn how to garden this summer! Well… it’s a bit late to learn how to garden right now, but I still plan to go to a nursery and finding some mint plants to keep back there. I was thinking about planting some stuff back there just to keep the dirt down (it’s two narrow strips of dirt and a walkway in the middle right now). I sweep back there almost everyday and it’s always so damned dusty!

I hear that mint grows like a weed, so while I originally wanted to plant something in the ground, I think I’ll stick to using a container for now. I don’t know if our landlord would appreciate a new mint infestation in the backyard.

coffee beans of the week.
I bought half a pound of the Whole Food’s Allegra Breakfast Blend for this week. It doesn’t look nearly as shiny and yummy as the Monsieur Beans stuff from last week. They look a bit dried out, actually.

haircut.
I got a haircut yesterday and I’m pretty happy with it. It looks good even after washing and blow-drying it myself. I’m a terrible stylist, but somehow it still looks good! For a whopping $35, I don’t think I could have asked for better! I don’t know that I’ve paid that little for a haircut in over 4 years. Damn you Shag Salon! You’re SO good, yet so expensive!

transformation.

I’m still going strong on the running and eating right. I’ve slowed down on losing weight, but it doesn’t bother me because I’m really really happy with where I am right now. I don’t know that I could wear a bikini to the beach anytime soon, but I feel healthy and happy and beautiful as I am. Well, I felt happy and beautiful before, but now I feel healthy! I feel like I could run to catch the bus without getting winded, and I can easily carry more heavy stuff further these days. That really matters to me since I often carry my cameras around and I’ve been working as a photographer’s assistant lately, which means carrying heavy stuff.

It’s really interesting to me that the people I’ve met here in California probably have no idea what I looked like before! That really fascinates me, that they all know me as the person I am right now, maybe noticing that I’ve lost weight since last year, but basically not knowing me when I was so much heavier. I don’t know that weight really matters to the people I know, since I try not to make friends with superficial people. Ha… Just for comparison, here’s a photo from when we got married (Sept 2005) and a recent one.

Back when...

To FSM or not?

Written by Reese

June 27, 2008 at 8:53 am

Posted in on being fitter

Tagged with , , ,

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What an amazing transformation. You look pretty on both pictures, but like two different pretty women. Amazing. You ROCK !!!

    Taly

    June 27, 2008 at 10:00 am

  2. Reesie! I must have totally missed that post in your Vox about you moving here. O.o I was thinking about you the other day and decided to check back in case I missed anything… and sure enough, I did. I’m glad you haven’t fallen off the face of the planet… I really missed your posts (and now I have a lot to catch up on, it seems).

    I’m so glad to hear that everything seems to be looking up in your life now. I know you were going through a hard time for awhile, and I’m so happy to hear that you’re happy and smiling again. *hugs*

    I will check back here more often! ^^

    Jen

    June 27, 2008 at 10:40 am

  3. Dude, be careful with the mint. That shit is like a weed and always overgrows its beds. I’ve seen suggestions that you should plant it in a pot then bury the pot to keep the root ball in control.

    I think in San Jose you could grow something all year round if you wanted to. I think you could easily do spinach, lettuce and radishes all winter then move over to warm weather stuff in the spring and summer.

    bostonwolf

    June 27, 2008 at 10:41 am

  4. I love the lightness of spirit and pride that radiates from this entry!

    NYCinephile

    June 27, 2008 at 11:53 am

  5. Interesting to note that in both shots, you tilt your head.

    NYCinephile

    June 27, 2008 at 12:16 pm

  6. I keep wanting to grow a planter full of mint and then plant covertly.

    Can you imagine how nice freshly cut mint would smell compared to freshly cut grass?

    wirehead

    June 28, 2008 at 11:11 am

  7. @Taly my love: Thank you so much!! I liked who I was at both points in my life, but I do enjoy my body these days much more since I feel healthier and more active!

    @Jen: Oh, my dear! I have been terrible at keeping up with the folks over at Vox (or on any other blogs for that matter), so please do NOT feel bad about not keeping up with me either!! Things are definitely looking up and it feels like the cloudy days are finally clearing for a shinier, happier time!

    @Jeff: Ya you’re right. I will definitely keep the mint in a container for now, unless I feel like trying to take care of a garden in the back. I was thinking of just mulching everything or planting some drought-happy ground cover that wouldn’t take too much just to make the area look a bit prettier.

    @David: Thank you! Yes, I do tilt my head a lot. I’m somewhat like a Boxer in that way, since I noticed that I cock my head to one side or the other. When I was getting my hair cut, the stylist had to constantly readjust my head to be straight, because I kept tilting it slightly.

    @Ken W: Hahaha… I think mint would be an AWESOME way to cover up a patch of dirt! I think you should start your plan for “evil mint world domination!!” I’m already working on mine…

    Reese

    June 28, 2008 at 11:41 am

  8. cuuuuutieeeeeeee :]

    Lorelei

    June 28, 2008 at 5:22 pm

  9. @Lorelei: Hehehe… thanks lovely!

    Reese

    June 28, 2008 at 9:18 pm

  10. see, my in-laws had that lawn before I was in the picture. Mint and Cilantro are very important parts of the cuisine and both are weeds.

    wirehead

    June 28, 2008 at 10:14 pm

  11. @Ken: Yes…… I can imagine how wonderful that would smell!!

    Reese

    June 29, 2008 at 10:52 am

  12. Reesie Poo!! I had no idea! You were still pretty on your wedding day, but I had no idea that you were EVER heavy.
    Wow…I’m so happy for you girl! You look absolutely amazing.
    And I love your haircut. You look super duper sexy! Rawr!! Frank’s loving that cut, I’m sure. You look so fly. šŸ™‚

    inga

    June 29, 2008 at 9:20 pm

  13. Ah, you are such a doll, I-R!! I don’t know that anyone ever thought I was really “heavy” before, but I did always think of myself that way (but in an accepting kind of way). And yeah, Frank LOVES the haircut!! Hehehe…

    Reese

    June 30, 2008 at 10:53 am


Leave a Reply

