a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

attention, we have sprouts.

with 9 comments

We have sprouts

I planted a bunch of basil seeds in this pot and was feeling pretty sad that nothing was growing. This afternoon, I noticed a big old lump of dirt in the middle that was previously flat. I pushed on the dirt a little bit to see what was going on under there (I really thought there were going to be a bunch of bugs or something there), and found all these sprouts hiding underneath! How awesome! I was starting to think that I had a black thumb after all.

In addition to the mesclun greens that sprouted (you can sorta see the little green sprouts in the background bokeh), this is my little garden! Yay! I feel really accomplished since things are now growing. I guess the big thing now is that I’ll need to thin these basil plants out since I just dumped a whole packet of seeds into the pot because I didn’t know what to do with the other seeds, and I also wasn’t sure how many of the seeds would grow. I guess now I’ll have a better idea and not plant EVERYTHING all at once in a teeny tiny little pot.

Now if only the mint and lettuce would sprout too! I also dug up one of the plots of dirt and planted some perennial wildflowers there, so hopefully in a week or two, there will be a bunch of new sprouts there too to help bring some colour to the backyard. I’m really excited. Such a huge dork.

Written by Reese

July 8, 2008 at 6:40 pm

Posted in my little garden

Tagged with , , ,

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is sooooo great. I cannot ignore the symbolism of new sprouts in a new home. New life growing. It is wonderful. I have a basil plant who sits on the TV counter (which is the most productive use we have to it) and it doesn’t do so well… I guess it needs more light and fresh air – like we all do 🙂

    Avital

    July 9, 2008 at 4:40 am

  2. @Taly my love: Yes, the sprouts are a good sign here! Even though I’ve had backyards at past rental flats, we’ve never really tried to grow anything out there until now! Ha.. the other back yards were already landscaped and the other people in the house with us took care of them, but now I have a chance to take care of my own yard! Haha… Maybe you should take your basil plant to a windowsill?

    Reese

    July 9, 2008 at 9:56 am

  3. Well, it does sit next to a window… We also have a decked porch, but the winds are too strong and it can get blown away (like a former towel of mine that was found a few miles away…).

    Avital

    July 9, 2008 at 11:54 am

  4. I’m sorry to hear about your experience.
    I’m white, speak english, and the bad part…. I’m from the south. North Carolina. Bad I say… well as with you.. they assume something… they assume with me…. that I’m a hillbilly, stupid, go barefoot have a house full of kids all by different fathers, and chew tobacco.

    So–I was raised in the mountains of NC, TN… I have my Masters in Fine Art, I wear shoes, have no children, and I’ve never smoked, chewed or dipped tobacco products. And what really freaks them out is when they find out that I’m 4 course away from having my Masters in Forensic Biology.

    We are all different but all so alike — Some people just don’t get it.
    Have a great day… and Happy knitting!

    Jennifer

    July 21, 2008 at 9:28 am

  5. Thanks for your note, Jennifer. Assuming things about people really never seems to work out except for maybe the off 1% chance that planets align and someone just happens to be right once in a blue moon. Ha.

    I have to say that most people I’ve met from the South seem to break that stereotype of being barefoot and pregnant while chewing tobacco.

    Reese

    July 21, 2008 at 10:37 am

  6. We need a sprout update 🙂

    bostonwolf

    July 29, 2008 at 10:06 am

  7. Ha… Sure thing! I actually have to take a photo of the box and post it to Flickr and then write something up on it.

    reese

    July 29, 2008 at 3:43 pm

  8. I’m jealous!

    Now that I’m in new space (that I don’t hate), I really want to start growing some things on the balcony. Living in condos is a pain and I haven’t had a yard in YEARS, but I love the idea of growing my own herbs and spices – and maybe some tomatoes? I have some basil seeds waiting to be planted .. Now I just need to get them under some dirt!

    Rebecca

    August 4, 2008 at 10:38 am

  9. @Rebs: Oooh….. Growing basil is SO easy that even I managed to make them grow like crazy and I have a blacker than black thumb. Just don’t do what I did and put an entire seed packet into this one small pot. You will end up with about a billion sprouts which now need to be separated and replanted. Pain in the ass!! Good luck with your garden. I really look forward to hearing about it!

    Reese

    August 5, 2008 at 8:14 am


Leave a Reply

