a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

OCD photography.

with 7 comments

I’ve got my fair share of little quirks when it comes to my regular life. I have to eat something before I run in the mornings. I weigh myself every morning and log it into a regular notebook AND an online spreadsheet that I can access from anywhere at any time. When I’m at home, I have a single glass that I like to use for drinking water because then I know how many cups I’m drinking each day.

No, I don’t have to turn the lights on and off 3 times before leaving the house, but I do have to have my house keys in my hand and I must be looking at them while I am shutting the door. If I don’t, I get paranoid that I just locked myself out. I must fully open at least one window if I leave the car keys in the car for any reason whatsoever.

Of course, my small quirky habits do extend to my photography, and since Darren has become my favourite shooting partner, our quirks are rubbing off on each other. Before, I used to shoot part of a roll and then leave it in the camera for the next shoot, and I never used to write on the roll to remind myself what was on there. These days, I always finish a roll at the shoot. This means that there are no more partial rolls where 2 shots are from this day, another shot from this day, and yet another few shots from another day. Of course, this doesn’t apply to 35mm since it takes me about forever to finish a roll of 24 or 36 exposures. I’m talking mostly about my 120 habits. Oh, and I also write down on the roll some info like the exposure I used, and also the date and where it was shot. Wow, this helps a LOT when it comes to developing stuff, because it’s no longer a big surprise and I can figure out how I want to develop something instead of just doing my regular old “typical” solution and agitation. It’s changed my world.

Oh, and you know how I’m a left-eyed girl, meaning that I usually frame and focus with my left eye? I’ve taken to focusing with my right eye (the sharper of the two) and then framing with my left. I’m not sure if it’s changed the way my photos come out, but I do notice that I’m much better at focusing when I use my right eye (the stronger and more dominant eye) and I can do it a lot faster than I can with my left, but my left is still the one that does the best job of framing. I make sure to watch the corners and just am generally more careful when it comes to framing with my left eye. Hmm… am I an ambi-eyed girl now?

Who knows, maybe I’ll go back to using my left eye exclusively. I wonder if there is really a difference… maybe I should shoot another roll using my right eye exclusively! That might be interesting. I know that my right eye sucks are cleaning the corners and doing composition.

Written by Reese

August 18, 2008 at 3:29 pm

Posted in shooting

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love this post. The most genuine way to describe *regular* human behavior 🙂

    Avital

    August 18, 2008 at 3:54 pm

  2. freak.

    Paul

    August 18, 2008 at 4:56 pm

  3. Those don’t seem like quirks at all, my dear. I do the single glass thing at home and always have the keys to the car in my hand as I get out. I didn’t realize it until you mentioned it, but I’m also left-eyed. Writing down the roll info is great and it’s something that I have to start doing again.
    Thanks for sharing this!

    Chris Campbell

    August 18, 2008 at 5:15 pm

  4. OMG, I know what you mean about finishing a roll. I’ve got 8 shots of Velvia left on my roll and it bugs the crap out of me. Even moreso because it’s awful for people. What if I have a hot and sexy fishynet babe over?!? 😀

    wirehead

    August 18, 2008 at 7:46 pm

  5. @Taly my love: Ha… yeah I think everyone has their little quirks and we all do weird things that we think are essential in life.

    @Paul: And this is why I love you.

    @Chris: Maybe try shooting a roll with your right eye exclusively? See how it turns out!

    @Ken: Haha… that was a failboat of a shoot last night!

    Reese

    August 20, 2008 at 9:23 am

  6. It’s a good idea to shoot a roll with my right eye. Oddly enough I realize that when I shoot video I will use my right eye since the viewfinders of video camera are set up on the left side of the camera, so you pretty much have to use your right eye. I hadn’t thought of that before. For some reason it’s much easier for me to close my right eye than my left eye.

    Chris Campbell

    August 20, 2008 at 10:10 am

  7. Tell me about it… 🙂

    Avital

    August 20, 2008 at 11:53 am


Leave a Reply

