a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

10 950

with 4 comments

So I last updated on August 18, which is a whopping two weeks ago. Jeez, no wonder Kat was asking me when the hell I was planning to update my blog. I’m much better at updating my Flickr account since I’ve been taking more photos and keeping a real paper journal lately to keep track of my everyday goings on. Yeah, I guess the paper journal has eclipsed the whole online blog thing. It’s sort of to help me discipline myself to have better handwriting too. I’ve found that my handwriting has really gone to hell since I started doing everything on the computer. Besides that, a paper journal just feels nice. I like turning the pages and seeing them fill with my handwriting over time. So let’s see… what have I been up to the past couple weeks?

Frank took me on a five-day whirlwind tour of the Pacific Northwest, with stops in Portland, Vancouver, and Seattle. It was pretty fun, but also very stressful with all the running around. Well, I’ll sum up and say that in the end, it was a good vacation and we enjoyed our time together away from the hustle of Silicon Valley. We ate some good food, saw friends we haven’t seen in ages, and had some very good conversations between the two of us. All in all, a good trip.

One of the best things we did was go to the giant Cabela’s just outside Tacoma, Washington. Oh my god that was awesome. When you walk in, they have a huge display of dead, stuffed animals from polar bears to elephants to elk. Totally amazing. We were almost late to the airport because we were a little too impressed with the display and the gun library (hello antique Winchesters!!). And look, I actually have some digital photos that Frank took while we were there. Is that a wonderful display or what? Totally amazing. Yeah, it was probably the coolest thing we saw during this vacation. We’re easily amused, apparently.

Oh right… we went shopping in Seattle and I bought myself a pair of jeans that I’m going to need for fall. It’s getting too cold to wear dresses everyday, so it’s probably time to end my pantsless summer and go back to wearing pants at least part of the time. It was wicked chilly in Seattle compared to the bright and sunny Bay Area, so I was freezing in my skirts and dresses. And I have to say a big thank you to the kind sizing folks at Old Navy; according to them I’ve dropped another size, but I know it’s only because they up-size everything there.

What else is up other than the vacation? Hmm… I’ve been ridiculously pleased with how a roll shot in Pacifica came out.

Seashore Landscape

Waves crashing A long shadow

Yeah. Fun times. I have to get more developing done so I’ll have more stuff to scan and post to Flickr like the crazy little OCD freak I am. It’s been bothering me that the undeveloped rolls are piling up and up on my desk. I’m up to 4 rolls of 120 and… 7 rolls of 35mm. For shame!! I have to get on developing today!

Written by Reese

September 3, 2008 at 10:36 am

Posted in shooting

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice to see you posting again…I’m glad that Kat reminded you.

    I’m with you…I think that there’s a direct correlation between frequent posting online and deterioration of handwriting. Mine’s almost illegible at this point.

    What, exactly, is Cabela’s?

    What sort of paper journal are you using?

    NYCinephile

    September 3, 2008 at 12:33 pm

  2. I was happy to find a new post on your blog through Google reader … If you aren’t there – you don’t exist (just kidding).

    It seems like you’ve had a nice vacation and I hope you are going to have a super-duper nice b-day!!!

    As for the longhand journaling – I am all in favor of it!!! Go Reese!!!

    Avital

    September 4, 2008 at 2:31 am

  3. more like harassed you into blogging. ha!

    tacoma! my home away from home. seattle!

    JEANS!!!

    woo!!!

    kat156

    September 4, 2008 at 2:04 pm

  4. @NYCinephile: Cabela’s is this giant hunting/fishing store for the outdoors-person. It’s quite famous. I’m just using a composition notebook for my journaling. I like ones that are thread-bound.

    @Taly: Thanks love! The vacation was nice and it’s really great to get back to journaling again.

    @Kat: Ha! Yeah… jeans…

    Reese

    September 4, 2008 at 2:06 pm


Leave a Reply

