a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

amsterdam tea.

with 5 comments

Two years ago, Frank and I took a trip out to Amsterdam for a few days and stayed out near Leidseplein where we went to a small local cafe and ate breakfast everyday. The very first day we were there, I ordered an herbal tea by Simon Levelt. Of course, they had no idea which blend it was since they had ordered it in bulk and didn’t have the label for it anymore and the person who would know wasn’t there for some reason. Well, I went and fell in love with that tea, and we proceeded to go to every market to look for this tea (and even the Simon Levelt store itself), but I couldn’t figure out which one it was. The only thing I knew was that it was a type of “biologisch” blend.

The whole thing drove me crazy because the tea had a natural tangy sweetness to it that I had never experienced in any other tea before, so I just felt like I had to find it. On our recent trip up to Portland, we stopped at a small pub called Greater Trumps and I ordered a pot of tea. They had a decent selection of tea and had a tea that tasted suspiciously similar to the Amsterdam Tea! Thrilled beyond belief, I actually took one of the teabags (sorry) and stashed it in my bag for later reference (Sweet Chamomile Tea by China Mist). It’s not exactly similar to the Amsterdam Tea, but it is pretty close and I discovered that the sweetness is actually from licorice root. The ingredients on the bag are: chamomile flowers, spearmint, peppermint, and licorice root. Aha! Sadly, I went to go look at the website, and I’m not sure that they sell these teas in retail stores, but they do sell it online! I might have to just break down and get a couple boxes of the stuff so I can drink it!

I spent about an hour today doing some research on teas that contain licorice root (and consequently discovered which Simon Levelt tea it was), and found the following:

Mighty Leaf Tea – Organic Detox
Mighty Leaf Tea – Calming Moon
Republic of Tea – Get a Grip
Stash Tea – Licorice Spice Tea

The first three sound pretty good, but the last one is a bit more licorice than might be good for me (it supposedly raises blood pressure, which would be good for me and my low blood pressure) and you shouldn’t have too much of the stuff. I guess I’ll check out the first three and see how they taste!

Written by Reese

September 4, 2008 at 1:51 pm

Posted in eating

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. okay. so get you tea for your birthday. check.

    kat156

    September 4, 2008 at 2:03 pm

  2. @Kat: Haha… yay tea!!

    Reese

    September 4, 2008 at 2:08 pm

  3. You are definitely not an ode & neurotic person. I have had plenty of similar experiences with tea, ending up buying a bunch of different blends, just to find the exact “cup of tea heaven” I had had before …

    Avital

    September 5, 2008 at 2:24 am

  4. I’m always amazed that teas can have such profound effects on our bodies (and food as well.)

    I’m the guy who obsessed on ramen after leaving Japan, so I’m not begrudging anyone their food/drink obsessions.

    Jeff D

    September 5, 2008 at 7:39 am

  5. @Taly my love: Haha… I’m glad that you have had the same feeling about needing to find out more about some particular tea! If only it was so easy to mix our own right?

    @Jeff: That is so true, Mr. Ramen!

    Reese

    September 5, 2008 at 8:09 am


Leave a Reply

