a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

the big 3-0.

with 14 comments

Hello world. Tomorrow, I will be officially be leaving my 20s behind me for the glorious 30s (they are glorious, aren’t they?). I thought about doing some kind of “the last 30 years in review” but then decided it was too much of an undertaking at this point and that I could do without the cheesiness of it. In its place, I will make do with a “the last year in review” instead.

September: Frank takes me to an amazing dinner at Farallon in SF. Oh my god the food is so good, I am still thinking about it months later. I take a picture of myself in the bathroom (the mirror was so big).

Birthday girl

September: Frank whisks me away for a romantic weekend in Sonoma and we have a fun weekend up in wine country. My photo of the mission ends up getting published in the 2008 Catholic calendar for the Bay Area.

Mission San Francisco Solano

September: We go to Lovefest up in SF and I have a fun old time taking photos of people. I get tons of hits on the nearly naked girls and feel like a big pervert.

Dancers Bright as you can be

October: I start my very first photo class at school and it was the first in many steps that lead to my utter downfall to the dark side of shooting film. I end up taking a bunch of photography classes at school and promptly forgetting most of the history stuff, but retaining a love for film and all that good stuff.

First contact The tracks

November: I get to meet the lovely Taly, who was living temporarily in the Bay Area. We keep in touch regularly, and she becomes a loyal confidante and good friend.

Hot date

December/January: For Christmas, Frank gives me a Hasselblad C/M that one of his colleagues was selling and that led me down the even more evil path of shooting medium format! The seller becomes my fairy camera godfather and starts to bequeath me with all manner of lovely photo-related gear he doesn’t want anymore. I consequently receive all his colour developing gear, along with getting to test out his Manfrotto tripod and his Yashica 124G.

Damn it! Fountain

January: We spend New Year with our wacky friends in Boston. Nobody’s outer extremities get blown off by fireworks.

Look at that!

February: Frank and I celebrate Valentine’s Day with not one, but two romantic dinners. One at the Carnelian Room, the other at Chez Panisse.

A romantic interlude Soft blur

March: I become an Assistant Organiser for my photo group and start scheduling all kinds of crazy walkabouts for them and instituting monthly meetings. It’s pretty awesome making people happy and providing a way for them to meet other photographers in the area.

Paparazzi in training

April: Wirehead Ken introduces me to the Cult of Strobism. Unfortunately, I’m bad at learning retention, and I have yet to really get into it.

June

April: Our Boston friends come to visit and we all go to the beach and do California-y things. In April. In the freezing cold. We all wear hoodies and pretend like it’s warm out there even though we’re freezing our asses off.

A fine day for bananafish

April: I start writing articles for ShutterBudd and providing appropriate photographs along with it.

Fork bokeh

May: I start taking my street photography more seriously and being friendlier to the crazies in the street. This results in a bunch of really funny photos that I immediately fall in love with.

Attention!

June: I start hanging out with Darren a lot and going to abandoned buildings with him. He continues to feed my love of film photography and medium format. He subsequently lends me two rangefinders, which make me obsess about getting a rangefinder.

Take a seat

July: Frank and I spend July fourth with our newfound California friends at a house party where no one caught fire and everyone still had their eyebrows. I call that a success.

Happy fourth!

July: I do a bit of modeling for Wirehead Ken, and I still fail to be interested in doing my own Strobist photography. He doesn’t seem to mind, since I wear fishnets and blue wigs for him.

Fishnets

July: Oh yeah… I also lose 70 pounds over the course of about a year.

What? I have legs?

August: I develop an entirely unhealthy fascination with photographing dead things and trash cans. I’m also shooting mostly film at this point.

Fallen Two and two

And that pretty much brings us to this right now. In all, I would say the last year has been pretty damned amazing and awesome. I am finally feeling like I’m adjusting to life out here in California and that it finally feels like a place I would want to call home. It was rough at first, but things have fallen into place once we met more people and found more people to call our friends, which once again leads me to believe that it’s the people and connections that make anywhere feel like home.

Here’s to another great year!

Written by Reese

September 11, 2008 at 5:22 pm

Posted in shooting

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You are an intelligent photographer

    ItsReallyDarren

    September 11, 2008 at 7:14 pm

  2. Happy (early) birthday!!! OMG, your 30’s are going to be amaaaaaaaaajing. Trust!

    Nice recap… and yes, that beach WAS cold. 🙂

    Much love, and I’ll see you next week!!!

    joygoddess

    September 11, 2008 at 7:49 pm

  3. awwww happy tomorrow birfday ^^

    Lorelei

    September 11, 2008 at 8:01 pm

  4. Welcome to the 30s club (which I’ll be departing soon enough) and happy birthday.

    Jeff D

    September 11, 2008 at 9:01 pm

  5. is it midnight yet?

    kat156

    September 11, 2008 at 11:19 pm

  6. What an exciting year… Happy 30 !!!

    I cannot express with (English) words how happy I am to be included. You are definitely serving a big role in my past year – and hopefully the years to come 🙂

    Avital

    September 12, 2008 at 6:27 am

  7. Thank you everyone!!! I’m so excited to be a year older!

    Reese

    September 13, 2008 at 9:12 am

  8. I enjoyed reading a year of your life in a review. The pictures make it even better. Glad to hear that you are settled in California now! Enjoy your 30’s!

    Martin

    September 15, 2008 at 4:34 pm

  9. @Martin: Thank you for taking the time to read my entry! It’s been a rough transition, but I think I’m finally getting used to it. Thanks for the encouragement. I just know my 30s will be better!

    Reese

    September 15, 2008 at 5:58 pm

  10. i love your photographs! you seriously make me want to get back into taking pictures, even though my camera has been hidden in a box for more than a year … i wonder if i can find anything inspirational in miami?

    oh, and you will love your 30s! i really loved turning 30 (hated 31) but now i’m settling into my new decade and i really like it. 🙂 i know myself better than ever, and i am open to learning more. it’s a great time to be 30(ish)! welcome!

    Rebecca

    September 16, 2008 at 5:24 am

  11. @Rebs: Thank you so much!! You should definitely dig out your camera and see if you can find anything to shoot around you. I’m sure there are tons of interesting things around you if you take a minute to just look and try taking some photos. I bet street photos in Miami are pretty interesting, or even photos of your life. Those always seem to interest me the most!

    And thanks, I think my 30s are going to be great! I’m really looking forward to them.

    Reese

    September 16, 2008 at 3:21 pm

  12. how a year can create such transformation is amazing. you go girl! i’m glad to hear your finally feeling at home.

    thx for the heads up on the article. to another great year ahead & beyond, happy birthday ms. reesie!

    maomau

    September 17, 2008 at 9:48 am

  13. September… *Feel* like a big pervert?

    Wirehead

    September 17, 2008 at 4:03 pm

  14. @Anna: Thanks!! I’m so glad you let me use your photo. I love promoting my photographer friends, so any time I see a chance, I’ll take it!

    @Ken: Hahaha… Ok, we all KNOW that I’m a big pervert… I was trying to be discreet!!

    Reese

    September 21, 2008 at 2:50 pm


Leave a Reply

