a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

On the road again.

with 5 comments

So I had a very happy birthday party this past weekend where we invited the bare minimum of guests and most people actually made it. We tried to go right for the vegetarians, but we ended up having a LOT of meat and really not enough non-meat stuff. I was so glad that I made eggplant and zucchini kebabs in the oven because I felt really bad that we didn’t have enough vegetarian food. I mean, it was a BBQ after all… but still. I still like accommodating all diets and lifestyle decisions, so of course I still wish we had more options than vegetable kebabs and salad. Eh… Oh well. My peanut pie dessert turned out to be a hit and was finished off rather quickly before I could even suggest people take a second slice. That felt pretty awesome and nice.

Of course, as usual, I only took a few photos during the party and they were all film, so you are going to have to wait until it gets developed and scanned to see how they turned out. I’ll share one that Ken took with his fancy shmancy G7.

Yoink!

The party ended and now I’m out visiting my parents for a few days before heading up to Boston to see more friends. I’m pretty excited to be back in Boston and to see all our friends again. I set up a thing on Sunday night to just send out a blanket invite for everyone who wants to hang out and grab a beer or a bite to eat. I’m hoping lots of people will come and it’ll be awesome fun.

Tomorrow I get to see a few people up in NYC and I’m so excited for that too! Two friends are people I’ve met before, but one is a new one who has been a Flickr contact for a while. I think it’s going to be pretty awesome fun and I’m really looking forward to meeting someone new. Of course, the other two friends make me just as excited, but I’m always a little bit more excited to meet someone for the very first time. I’ll be bringing my camera along to take plenty of photos. Exciting times!

 

Plus, because I grew up here, I never did all those touristy things that everyone else has done, so I have NEVER walked across the Brooklyn Bridge. That will be rectified tomorrow and I will be walking across that goddamned bridge and taking the very typical touristy photos that everyone does AND going to see the NYC Waterfalls exhibit. You could say I’m excited…

As a random side note, my parents were super excited to see me and how I’ve changed in the past year. It’s been a long time since I’ve seen them (I don’t come home often at all), but I do send them photos from time to time. Apparently the photos just don’t do justice and they were shocked to see me! My mom can’t get over it at all, and when I went into the kitchen this morning, the said, “Reese, oh wow, you’re still skinny!!” as if I was going to blow up overnight. Too funny.

So anyway, I decided to take a completely gratuitous photo of myself sitting at the desk in my old bedroom. My parents have gone on this huge renovation kick and have replaced all the flooring upstairs with hardwood, which means that the hot pink shag carpeting (which came with the house) is no longer here to cushion my feet. It would figure they would make all these changes. They even actually fixed (reversed) the hot and cold faucets in my bathroom to to the right way. I grew up thinking the convention in my bathroom was hot on the right, cold on the left, which is opposite to the normal world. Besides that, guests were constantly burning themselves in my bathroom when washing their hands and boiling hot water would come rushing out when they were expecting nice, cold water.

The furniture in my room is still the same, but my mom has added a giant saran-wrapped statue of St. Jude (or some other religious dude from the Bible) to the dresser. You can see him eerily staring over my shoulder in the background. He’s starting to creep me out a little bit and I’m wondering if I should poke a little hole in the saran wrap so he can breathe before he gets suffocated and angry and comes to life and murders the first person he sees (me, sleeping peacefully in my old bed).

Written by Reese

September 17, 2008 at 4:06 pm

Posted in shooting, traveling

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve replaced “skinnier” or “thinner” in my vocabulary with “buffer”.

    It works for me.

    Wirehead

    September 17, 2008 at 6:21 pm

  2. The excitement and happiness are really showing through. I am so happy for you. Please do continue to report 🙂

    Avital

    September 18, 2008 at 2:29 am

  3. I’m scared of that saint on your shoulder.

    NYCinephile

    September 18, 2008 at 3:30 am

  4. Happy belated birthday Reesie. It’s funny the things you grow up with that are just taken for granted, until you realise that they’ve been slightly different all along. It’s nice to hear your parents are enjoying having you around for a little while.

    My mum and her partner Michael are making a sea change this weekend and moving away from the city in which I grew up. They are feeling pretty lonely and a little apprehensive at the moment, but I’m sure they’ll do fine.

    Have a great weekend.

    Brett

    September 20, 2008 at 2:19 pm

  5. @Ken: Ha.. I’m not sure if buffer is working for me right now since I’ve been on vacation and not really running like I should. I need to get back to it.

    @Taly: Aww… thank you! It’s been nothing but good news to report so far.

    @NYCinephile: Ha, you should be.

    @Brett: I’m sure your mum and Michael will adapt to their new environment just fine, but it might take a little while. Hope you had a good weekend too!!

    Reese

    September 21, 2008 at 3:08 pm


Leave a Reply

