a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Seeing old friends

with 7 comments

Blue steelWell, my trip to NYC and Boston is almost wrapping up. I’ve had a chance to see some old friends and also meet a new one. What’s been really nice is seeing the people that I don’t keep in touch with on a regular basis. I have one friend that I don’t keep in touch with regularly, but somehow we manage to meet up on a fairly regular basis once or twice a year on either of our coasts. This year she came to San Francisco and we had a chance to wander around the Mission and then we happened to meet again in NYC this past week when I was around. Ah, good times.

I also had a chance to meet with some Boston friends who actually started off as real-life friends. These days, it’s quite rare that I make a friend who has started out as a real-life friend; most of my friends are people that I’ve met online and then met in person. It’s funny how that happens. Other than most of my former colleagues from when I was working in Boston, or people I went to school with, a lot of my current friends are people I’ve met through the internet.

Look meanThe nice thing about meeting people online is that most of them are willing to cultivate an offline friendship as well. I’ve only met a few people who were unwilling to be offline friends, and to be honest, those online friendship have waned and died out for the most part. I like meeting people so that eventually we can become in-person friends when we have the chance. I just don’t see the point of being online-only friends. Why should I invest my time in a friendship that will not reward me with an in-person relationship in the end? I understand that not everyone can do the online-to-offline transition, but for the most part, I would really like to make all my online friendships into offline ones at some point if we really click and get along. Of course, I guess I only care if the friendship has made it past the critical point where I want it to become an offline friendship. I seem to have plenty of online friends who remain as online friends because we just don’t seem to click past a certain point.

LisaEh, I won’t really get into it too much. I just have to say that it’s been pretty gratifying to have several of my online friendships transition into offline friendships. In fact, one girl that I met through blogging no longer blogs or spends much time maintaining an online life, but we still manage to meet in person. That is what is really interesting to me, the fact that she has pretty much gone offline, but that we have somehow managed to keep our lives intertwined. We don’t write e-mails back and forth, and we also don’t chat very often. The only contact is usually right before we are to see each other in person, and sometimes it feels like we pick up where we left off once we do meet.

Right… I have managed to blather on about it when I said I wouldn’t. Anyway, I just wanted to say that it’s been nice seeing old friends. Some are people are I keep in touch with on almost a daily basis, and others are people that I see once in a blue moon. All in all, it’s been a really satisfying trip to see everyone and get to spend time in person with them.

Written by Reese

September 22, 2008 at 3:52 pm

Posted in shooting

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I totally agree with you. I need offline friends. Living away from my friends (and not really interacting with new ones) shows me how much in-person friendships are important to me. Even if we rarely meet, but I know we CAN makes all the difference.

    Sometimes online friends do not “click well” when I try to deepen the relationship, and that is OK. They will just never transition into offline friends.

    However, sometimes (you should know) the transition is so smooth and wonderful that an online friend becomes an AMAZING, talented, sensitive and intellectually intriguing offline-good-friend 🙂

    Avital

    September 23, 2008 at 2:57 am

  2. @Taly: Yes… offline friends fuel life!! It’s nice to have online connections with people, but it’s always better (to both of us anyway) to have people offline to connect with! It’s just so nice to have people who can meet you in person when you come to visit their town.

    Reese

    September 23, 2008 at 10:25 am

  3. come back! killer bunnies! only offline friends cn do that.

    kat156

    September 23, 2008 at 10:42 pm

  4. I don’t know why, but I absolutely love that picture of Stabby with Frank in the background. 🙂

    Hope you had a good time here, come back soon!!!

    joygoddess

    September 24, 2008 at 7:10 pm

  5. @Kat: Ain’t that the truth!!! More Killer Bunnies!!

    @JC: She looks so HAPPY in that photo… Plus there’s all that food next to her too… I had an awesome time and can’t wait to come back again, but no more dying ok??

    Reese

    September 25, 2008 at 8:57 am

  6. that so great! its always nice meet ppl who’s lives you’ve been keeping up with in real time. its like a old friend reunited. 🙂

    maomau

    October 7, 2008 at 2:41 pm

  7. @Anna: Yes, it’s really a nice feeling to finally meet someone in person that you’ve known for a long time. One day we will meet and I’m sure it will feel like we’re old friends too!

    Reese

    October 8, 2008 at 9:31 am


Leave a Reply

