a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

One size happier.

with 10 comments

You know those commercials on TV that have “One Size _____” where you enter some neat little adjective. Of course, I don’t watch nearly enough TV to know what company uses that advertising scheme, but I’m sure that one of you out there might know. Right… I’m also too lazy to Google it myself, so there it is.

Anyway, I’ve been thinking about those commercials and what kinds of adjectives I would use in the blank space. Hmm.. I would say that I’m definitely One Size Fitter, One Size Happier, One Size Stronger, One Size More Capable. I’m not even sure that there’s one word that can possibly describe how I feel now that I’ve lost all that weight that was dragging my body down.

Right now, I am a size 12. Now, that is pretty large compared to some other girls (you skinny bitches totally rule), but I’ve lost almost 10 sizes compared to what I was wearing 1.5 years ago. I’m not sure why, but size 12 was something I used to strive for. It’s the size that my mom wore when I was growing up and she had a bit more meat on her bones (she’s now a lot leaner thanks for working out and a much healthier diet). I always thought my mom was beautiful and strong when I was a kid (I still think she rocks the clock). Size 12 just seemed to be a good idea, and it was something of an ideal that I held in my mind.

A few months back, I finally hit size 12 at Old Navy (which is actually a fake size 12 since they size their clothing larger for some vanity purposes), and I felt pretty damned good. It made me glow, but it was also a bit of a cheap victory since I knew that the rest of the world did not follow Old Navy sizes and that I was still a 14 in other brands. It was when I finally made it to size 12 in H&M that I admitted true victory to myself. Ha. I’m not sure why I thought H&M was a true test of whether or not I was size 12, but it just felt like a good thing to me. Maybe it’s the whole idea of a European brand sizing things down, so that if I was a size 12 there, then maybe I was a size 12 anywhere else.

I guess if I dropped to size 10, I would still be pretty happy. I’m still waiting for my body to even out and figure out what size is healthy for my lifestyle and activity level. Like a typical engineer, I believe that the system will reach steady state at some point, depending on the input and output. Ha. SUCH A NERD.

Ha.. this is SO vain of me to just write about this, but I just wanted to share with the world how much this physical change is affecting my mood and attitude about life. I really feel younger, happier, more energetic, etc. Ha. Next blog entry will be less self-centred. Promise!!

Written by Reese

October 9, 2008 at 11:48 am

Posted in on being fitter

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You look hot too! I know what you mean though, and I do think our bodies have a size and shape they “want” to be and that it doesn’t take too much effort to maintain once you get there. I gained about ten pounds when I first moved to Boston, and once I realized it, it took almost no effort to lose them again. But if I wanted to drop ten pounds NOW, I’d pretty much have to starve myself. Anyway, I’m really happy that this is having such a positive impact on your life! Yay for you!

    Ashley

    October 9, 2008 at 12:59 pm

  2. It’s been a long time since you last wrote about your healthy lifestyle and to tell you the truth, I am missing those posts. They are very helpful in motivating myself and I’d been slacking for such a long time. Arghhhhhh. You are MY personal cheerleader, whether you know it or not and I am so happy for another post about YOU.

    Avital

    October 9, 2008 at 1:52 pm

  3. Congratulations on your continued progress in your journey!

    As you know, my waist is now a 50 and climbing.

    NYCinephile

    October 9, 2008 at 2:16 pm

  4. Keep running and changing distances and tempo. Never let the system reach steady state!

    Jeff D

    October 9, 2008 at 2:20 pm

  5. I agree with Avital, I love reading these posts… it’s my inspiration to eat a little healthier, to get the gym a little more, and to get up from my computer a lot more! 😉 You look fab and I’m so glad that you’re in your happy place! =)

    Lily

    October 10, 2008 at 6:03 am

  6. Good on you Reesie, a healthy heart is a happy one. Everything else is just dead weight.

    Brett

    October 10, 2008 at 7:32 am

  7. @Ashley: Dude… how the hell have you been? Yeah, I agree on the body finding some kind of shape and size they want to be for the lifestyle you like to live. Maybe people are most unhappy when they realise that their lifestyles can’t match the body they want.

    @Avital: I feel like I think about it a lot more often than I write about it on my blog, so it feels to me like I’m always thinking about it. Anyway, I am very happy to cheer you on and encourage you! I’m always so glad to hear about all your cooking adventures too.

    @NYCinephile: Ha… Fattie.

    @Jeff: Well, I’m going to increase distances, change up directions and routes, etc. I think I’ve almost reach the upper limit of my running time though (about 45 minutes), but who knows… maybe in another year I’ll be saying that I’m not going to run any longer than an HOUR and that’s that.

    @Li: Get your ass in gear, girl!!

    @Brett: Haha… yes, a healthy, happy heart is the way to go.

    Reese

    October 10, 2008 at 8:38 am

  8. puhleese!! if you want to write about it, its your platform. its a good thing. if you reach your goal, just start another to keep you motivated. that 4th paragrh was totally the engineer talk in u. ahhaa

    maomau

    October 10, 2008 at 3:59 pm

  9. Psh!!! Go self-love :] I love you, I love me LOVE IS ALL AROUNG *bwahaha CHEEESE*

    You always looked great and I’m not just saying that. I’m amazed at how much you’ve transformed tho.. my Reesie the hottie ❤ I LOVE you dear and as long as you’re happy, I’m happy, you’d be PERFECT at every shape and size and don’t ever forget that.

    Stop eating so healthy, it makes me feel so guilty when I eat 10 bags of candy every night :] haha…

    XOXO…

    misstiffie

    October 12, 2008 at 7:16 am

  10. @Anna: Hahaha… you’re right, this is MY blog and I can be as selfish in my own little personal online-space as I want! Hahaha…

    @Tiffs: Aww… I love you too frosting-wifey!! You’re such a good cheerleader for me! Hehe… you get healthy too. Eat more of those giant mutant peaches!

    Reese

    October 12, 2008 at 2:40 pm


Leave a Reply

