a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Upped the mileage.

with 4 comments

Before the trip to NY and Boston, I took a bit of a break from running. I ran out of motivation, and I got really busy with other fun stuff that involved seeing friends and tasks for work. After we returned to the Bay Area, I decided to get back into running, especially after I noticed that my thighs were losing the muscle definition that I’d worked so hard for. And thus, I decided to rededicate myself to running on a regular basis. I set a schedule for myself, and I plotted out 2-3 different running routes so that I wouldn’t get bored. It’s amazing how different a running route feels even when you are running the same course but in reverse direction. It’s like a whole new route!

I’ve been running about 3 miles three times a week for 3 weeks now, and just last week I decided it was time to start increasing my mileage per run. Following the magic 10% increase rule (increase 10% of distance or time), I decided to add another 0.2-0.3 mile to my running route. Of course, this required plotting out more routes (thank you, Google maps) and soon I had another new route to test out.

Oh wait… a bit more background information before I continue…

My old running route used to be around campus. I would go twice around and that would be approximately 3 miles to and from my house. Needless to say, it got boring after a while, especially because I was going the same route all the time and I never even changed up the direction I ran. That’s probably why I got really bored with running outdoors. Anyway, when I first started running around the campus, I couldn’t go for more than a block or two without stopping for a break. I used to be really good on the treadmill, but it’s a lot harder to run the same distance outdoors!

My brand new running route has me doing a single loop around the campus before heading off into the residential neighbourhood for another large loop. What’s been really nice is that I can now run a lot further than I used to around the campus without taking a walk break! Ha… it’s funny because I never really noticed if I improved my running skills or not, but apparently things ARE getting better even if I’m not paying attention.

Good times…

Now that I’ve gone for my 3.3 mile run, it’s time for some really tasty tamales from Lucy’s Tamale Factory. We tried them yesterday and they are AMAAAAAAAAZING. I think I’ll get the jalapeno & cheese and sweet corn tamales today. Well, maybe one of the chicken ones too. Maybe… God they’re so good…

One last thing… I dropped the Mister off at the airport early this morning for his business trip. Four days of me-time all to me-self! Yay… This probably means I’ll be eating a lot of the fruit I bought at the farmer’s market yesterday, and also having more tamales… Who knows, maybe I’ll try to perfect my pan-seared ahi tuna with curried quinoa recipe.

Written by Reese

October 12, 2008 at 2:21 pm

Posted in eating, on being fitter

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yay to you!!! First, for being so self disciplined with your running and getting better with it and for the change of attitude – for you appreciating yourself. The latter change is the most important – you are happy to indulge for YOURSELF.

    Avital

    October 13, 2008 at 2:26 am

  2. You are the guru of tamale-inspired running.

    I hope that Mister travels safely.

    NYCinephile

    October 13, 2008 at 4:59 am

  3. ooo, you must share your ahi tuna and curried quinoa recipe! i love quinoa =)
    happy running!!

    Lily

    October 17, 2008 at 2:29 pm

  4. @Taly my love: Thanks!! Yes, sometimes you just have to do what you want right? I hope you’re keeping up your exercise and healthy eating. It’s been so great to hear of all the new recipes you’re trying.

    @NYCinephile: Ha. The tamales are worth it.

    @Lily: Yes!! I’ll look them up and send them over to you. The recipe for the tuna isn’t so much a recipe as me throwing ingredients into a pan and trying new things… I’ll try to write it up for you.

    Reese

    October 17, 2008 at 6:46 pm


Leave a Reply

