a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

The DIY spirit of the holidays

with 4 comments

I don’t have much of an income this year, so I don’t really have much money to buy presents for people this year. We are in a recession after all, right? Well, no better time than to cue the DIY spirit of the season!

This year, everyone is going to get something handmade by me. The the most expensive gifts will be wine in reversible fabric wine bags; they’ll only be expensive because we would have to go buy some bottles of wine. The most time-consuming gifts will be knitted scarves and other small items like mug cozies, hand warmers, camera cases, etc. Maybe those are actually the best gifts anyway, since they’re more handmade than the wine bags (which are sill kind of a pain to make). I guess the rest of the people will get cookies or something tasty that won’t stick around and end up never getting used or worn. I always figure that food is a good gift for people who have a lot of stuff or those I don’t know very well. People can always take some chocolate chip cookies. I try to make them more gourmet and nice by using top quality chocolate chunks instead of the regular choco chips.

On the topic of being green and trying to recycle stuff, I’ve also decided to make some of my handmade gifts out of old clothes I used to wear. I think t-shirts may end up as quirky stuffies or as a lining for a small camera pouch. I do have a couple pairs of jeans that could use a little recycling, but I’m not sure that my (borrowed) sewing machine can handle the thickness of the cloth. I’ve been looking at a lot of recycled fabric projects these days since Darren’s lent me his mom’s sewing machine. Seriously, it’s the best thing ever, and I’m really quite excited to see what I can make out of old clothing. I even thought about doing some kind of patchwork something out of some old screen-printed t-shirts, you know, the $5 ones from Old Navy that go on sale every year.

Well anyway, here’s to the DIY spirit!

Written by Reese

December 4, 2008 at 1:14 pm

Posted in shooting

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. In my mind, the amount of money you’re spending isn’t really any different. It’s just that a larger portion of it is your personal time, spent making the gifts. I don’t think anyone would or should appreciate them any less because of that. Just the opposite, in fact.

    Jeff D

    December 4, 2008 at 2:24 pm

  2. go to bev mo for that 5 cent wine deal!

    kat156

    December 4, 2008 at 10:41 pm

  3. I don’t think you’ve ever had the Secret Wirehead Chocolate Chip (and other stuff) Recipe, have you? 😀

    wirehead

    December 5, 2008 at 9:29 am

  4. @Jeff: Hahaha, so true.. Time is money too!

    @kat: Ya totally!!

    @Ken: Nope… but maybe you can show me how to make ras malai instead?

    Reese

    December 7, 2008 at 11:52 pm


Leave a Reply

