a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

The great escape.

with 3 comments

For me, photography is an escape from the everyday. I get to pick up a camera and go around seeing things the way I choose through a light-proof box. It’s like my rabbit-proof fence. It keeps me in and the pests out. The camera separates me from the world, but also connects me to it. It lets me keep a piece of the world all to myself, but it also gives me something to share with the people around me.

Whirlwind

I have a really low upload rate for the photos I take. I may take 100 photos, but only upload about a quarter of them. There are lots of reasons why I wouldn’t upload them all. I find a lot of my work pretty insipid and boring, and I think that the rest of the world probably isn’t interested in the hundreds of photos I’ve taken of fire hydrants or my feet standing on the sidewalk. Maybe being unhappy with my photos is just part of being a shooter. That unhappiness keeps me striving for more, yearning to learn how to express myself just the way I want. There are so many times when I see a potential photo, feel something as I stand there and shoot it, but somehow don’t feel like I expressed it correctly when I look at the finished photo. It’s missing something that’s not quite telling the viewer everything I want. Maybe I’m just too critical of my own stuff, but it’s just how it is right? It’s always the self-criticism that is the worst.

The quiet

I’m on a path, leading from here to there, but I don’t have a map and  I’m not really sure where “there” is and if I’ll ever get there. Maybe “there” doesn’t even exist for me. It’s more like an ideal zen state that I’ll probably never reach. Maybe I’ll finally be happy with my photography if I ever do reach it, but I’m just as happy not reaching it.

I think I’m content going out, taking photos, talking to friends about it, and living life as a generally upbeat, happy person. It’s an escape from the mundane, a record of where I’ve gone, what I’ve done, who I’ve done it with. I think that in a few years when I look back at my photos, I’ll remember most the process, going out with friends, meeting new people. It’s not so much the shots I’ve taken, but the way there. Ha… That’s a rather vapid observation eh?

Written by Reese

December 13, 2008 at 1:03 pm

Posted in shooting

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Do you sometimes revisit your un-uploaded photos and fall in love with them? (It used to happen to me and I now upload e-v-e-r-y-t-h-i-n-g, which makes going through my photo-stream a bit daunting)…

    Avital

    December 15, 2008 at 12:23 pm

  2. @Taly: Yes, most certainly I think that I find gems in my old photos that I never liked at first. I guess that our tastes change slightly as time goes on, and maybe you’d like something you didn’t like before.

    Reese

    December 17, 2008 at 12:46 am

  3. I came across this post late, but I think at just the right time! I was sitting here spinning in an over-critical, self-questioning, what-the-hell-am-I-doing, uncreative mood about photography. Haven’t been happy with anything I’ve been taking recently. While I don’t wish it on anyone, it’s nice to know I’m not the only one who has moments of over-thinking, self-criticism, and creative block.

    And a good reminder that it’s just supposed to be fun, damnit! 🙂

    Laurel

    December 28, 2008 at 4:17 pm


Leave a Reply

