a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

And the year draws to a close

with 2 comments

It’s been a really interesting year, this 2008. It started off sucking pretty hard, but it’s turned into a lovely lovely friend and I’m almost sad to see it go! I’ve learned a lot about myself and about life in general, met a bunch of new people, let go of some old ones, and generally progressed forward with my life in a way that I find very agreeable.

I’m not going to go into all the details of what’s changed in my life, but the important parts are:

  • Got more into photography, specifically film photography, but I think I’m returning to digital for a little bit at least
  • My body has finally reached a happy stage where I’m happy with the way I look and feel and I don’t have to put too much effort into losing anymore, just maintaining
  • I’m finally getting used to living in California, the so-called west-coast lifestyle
  • We’ve met lots of new friends and reconnected with some old ones as well
  • Knitting is awesome and I’ve found a new knitting group that looks really promising

Jeez, I’m really not sure what’s ahead next year, but I know it starts off with a friend’s wedding (congrats C+E!!) up in beautiful Seattle. I’ll be heading up with a friend instead of with Frank since the wedding is during the week and Frank can’t take time off then. It’s sure to be a fun time since my friend has also never been to Seattle, so I can almost feel like I’m showing him around since I’ve been there a grand total of once. Ha!

Au café A dark and narrow path
A bit less film shooting for now, methinks

Hmm… what else? Oh right… about going back to digital photography for a little while… I think I need a stint where I can stop caring so much about it, because it’s been eating me up and I’ve been overly critical of my work. I don’t really know why, but I care more about my photography when I shoot film; it’s just inherent for me and I don’t really know why. When it comes to digital, I feel like the finished product is less important and that the process becomes more fun and free. Maybe I just need to go back to shooting on rangefinders instead; I’d headed back to my trusty SLR lately to have more control over the composition of my shots. Yeah… I’ve been incredibly unhappy with my photography lately, so I’m really hoping that a small trip over the dark side of digital will help revive my passion for it. I’ll probably start missing film as soon as I tell myself I need to shoot digital again.

Oh, and also on the knitting front! I managed to make gifts for a lot of people this year, and it’s been really relaxing and wonderful to create things with my hands again. I really enjoy the process of knitting or sewing something, and it’s nice giving people something that I spent time making. It’s like a litlte extra bonus love for them. Darren gave me a subscription to Make magazine, and I’m thinking of asking him to switch it to Craft since it has more sewing/knitting type stuff in it instead of cool geeky electronics stuff.

Last-minute White drop stitch scarf
Handwarmers for a cousin and a scarf for my mom

Finished!Cookies for the rest of ’em!

So… I probably won’t update again until next year when we part ways with 2008 and meet 2009 for the first time, so I’ll say “おめでとうございます!!” to you now and see you in the new year!!

I'm watchingI’m watching you!!

Written by Reese

December 28, 2008 at 1:01 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That picture of Rita Pita all wrapped up in that scarf is the cutest and funniest thing ever!!! ❤

    joygoddess

    January 6, 2009 at 7:45 pm

  2. @JC: Aww… thanks!!

    Reese

    January 13, 2009 at 11:44 am


Leave a Reply

