a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Revamping the regime

with 8 comments


A railway-car-turned-shop in Madrid, NM

The great thing about travelling sans computer is that I get to catch up on reading my magazines. I have free subscriptions to at least 5 at any given time thanks for my and Frank’s useless airline miles, and I always read them through from front to back. Yes, I read all the articles, look at all the new shades of makeup, study the newest fashion, and rip out pages with good recipes that I want to try. After reading through a number of random articles on fitness, fashion, and femininity, I decided on a few new goals in my life:

1. Eating 4 small meals a day

I try to eat a total of 1600-1800 calories a day and I’ll split that by 4 meals a day. The biggest changes will be increasing my breakfast amount and decreasing my supper choices. I was eating only about 200 calories for breakfast before, so I’ll add on a boiled egg or yoghurt and maybe a piece of toast. For supper, I was pretty much eating the majority of my daily calories, and that’s never a good thing before going to bed.

I’m hoping the change will let me have more of a stable eating schedule, which will help blood sugar levels and all that good stuff. I’m even thinking of doing a crappy-mobile-phone food blog on a separate account on Flickr so that I can have a visual cue of what I’m eating throughout the day. Maybe… I’m not so vigilent about taking photos of every meal, and that’s a lot of picture mail too!

2. Find that elusive special perfume

I’m going to start wearing perfume on a regular basis. I think it’s one of those things that makes me feel womanly and beautiful, and I’m always down for that! After having read a bit more on the topic, I think I’ll try to check out Elizabeth Arden’s Beautiful. When I do wear perfume, I wear YSL’s Opium, which is a bit heady and strong for most days. Maybe something lighter would be better for daily use. I also kind of want to have a scent that people smell when they get close to me.

3. More shooting with the Hassy

Ah, poor Vlady the Hasselblad, you haven’t gotten much use lately, but that’s going to change. I want to go out and shoot more medium format film, and it started with the trip to New Mexico with Cousin (all my cousins are referred to as simply “Cousin”). I brought the Hassy and shot 4 rolls over 2 days, and it made me so happy. I already dropped the rolls off at the lab yesterday when I got back and will pick them up today! The anticipation is just too much!

4. Exercise 30 minutes a day

I don’t mean that I’m going to run everyday now, but at least 30 minutes of brisk walking or some kind of exercise to get my blood pumping is a good idea. I even get free Exercise TV workouts through cable, so might as well do those when it rains outside. I do honestly believe that getting the blood pumping is the best way to clear out your body and make yourself feel good, so why not do it everyday, right? It doesn’t have to be very strenuous; just doing something is good for you to keep your muscles active. This is another reason why I would like to get a dog, so I can take it for long walks with me everyday (especially while I’m working from home).

Written by Reese

February 20, 2009 at 12:10 pm

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pam just bought Jillian Michael’s (Biggest Loser trainer) workout DVD and swears it is kicking her ass whenever she does it.

    Jeff D

    February 20, 2009 at 12:14 pm

  2. In response:

    1) Yes, I am trying to eat less, too. That’s why sometimes I take pictures of my food and post them as Flickr blogs–if my food doesn’t look pretty than I feel guilty letting people know I ate it.

    2) I’m European, so I NEVER leave the house without perfume on. My signature scent is Cool Water by Davidoff, but I also love Chance by Chanel and Island by Michael Kors (for sunny days).

    3) DO NOT get a small dog, haha, especially if what you want to EXERCISE. My parents have a german shepherd and when I lived with them, Roxy and I would go on runs together.

    Flo

    February 20, 2009 at 12:54 pm

  3. Great goals! Who said women magazines are no good 🙂

    Avital

    February 20, 2009 at 2:39 pm

  4. My favorite perfume of all time is Hanae Mori. I’d wear it everyday if I weren’t so cheap about buying perfume. It’s one luxury I personally can’t justify.

    I’m with you on eating habits. I need to change. I pretty much eat nothing for breakfast and gorge myself at supper. NOT GOOD. You’re an inspiration! 🙂

    Sandra

    February 20, 2009 at 9:47 pm

  5. @Jeff: I might look into buying some workout DVDs when I exhaust the free ones on demand.

    @Flo: I really like that you post photos of your home-cooked meals. It’s really interesting to me to see portion sizes and amounts that people eat.

    And also, I totally love that you prefaced the part about wearing perfume with the fact that you are European. My college roommate (Romanian, born there) always wore perfume before going out. ALWAYS. I don’t know that there was ever a time that she did not spritz something on before leaving our room.

    I’d really like to get at least a medium sized dog, and definitely one that likes to be outside burning off energy!

    @Taly: Ha… I can save them for you if you’d like to read them and I’ll hand them over next time we see each other.

    @Sandra: Oh… Hanae Mori! I want to check that one out too. There’s a growing list of perfumes for me to check out at the store! Dude, breakfast is most important right? Oh, so I heard that if you eat a big dinner, then it tides you over until morning and then you don’t feel like eating at all! That’s why lots of people skip breakfast and don’t feel hungry until lunchtime. Ha. Makes sense!

    Reese

    February 21, 2009 at 9:56 am

  6. You just need to see if RitaPita can deal with a leash. They do make cat-leashes. Or teach her to sit on your shoulder like a parrot.

    Alternatively, you can get a bike and put RitaPita in the front basket.

    Bikes rule. I’m getting about 60 minutes of exercise every day, which means that I’m at least twice as cool and will look twice as sexy in spandex as you. 😀

    Also, breakfast rules. You need to drop in for a Wirehead breakfast sometime. I laugh at 200 calories. 😛

    wirehead

    February 21, 2009 at 11:26 am

  7. Reese, Thank you so much for offering, but I’m already subscribed to Shape and Self…

    Avital

    February 21, 2009 at 12:52 pm

  8. […] a comment » So remember two posts ago when I discussed changing my eating habits? I went from 3 meals a day to 4 smaller meals of about 400-500 calories each. I’ve given […]


Leave a Reply

