a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Another Way to Eat.

with 4 comments

So remember two posts ago when I discussed changing my eating habits? I went from 3 meals a day to 4 smaller meals of about 400-500 calories each. I’ve given myself a pretty strict schedule:

  1. Meal #1 around 9am. This usually consists of 1/2c oatmeal made with water, cup of coffee, piece of fruit like a banana or apple, and toast with peanut butter on it.
  2. Meal #2 around noon or 1pm. This might be leftover lasagna, tomato rice soup, or some kind of light sandwich.
  3. Meal #3 around 3-4pm. This is sometimes more of a snack like hummus with pita chips, a handful of carrots, and a piece of fruit.
  4. Meal #4 is dinner and is typically the last meal of the day at 8pm the latest.

With the smaller meals, I often feel much hugrier in the mornings, which was part of the plan. Before, I was eating dinner so late that I wasn’t even hungry for breakfast in the mornings, but now I wake up feeling hungry and breakfast tastes even better! I have a hard time keeping up with my eating schedule, and I sometimes end up eating when I’m not so hungry. I suppose that it goes against my idea to eat only when I feel hungry, but I’m already seeing results on the scale, so it must be something right. Plus, when I can keep to the schedule, I don’t feel too hungry during the day, and it keeps my mood buoyant.

La lasagne

Lunch today: Homemade lasagne with turkey, spinach, and mushrooms

Written by Reese

February 26, 2009 at 3:19 pm

Posted in eating, on being fitter

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sounds like a plan 😉

    Avital

    February 26, 2009 at 8:58 pm

  2. I was doing something similar, but fell off the wagon. It definitely helped keep the lbs off. You’ve motivated me to get back on the plan.

    Peter

    February 28, 2009 at 10:13 pm

  3. I don’t do this on purpose but I’ve been really pushing myself to eat smaller portions lately. Or if I know i’m going to have a large meal just eat something small and save the calories for later.

    Still need to retrain myself from the “clean your plate” mantra I got as a kid.

    Jeff D

    March 4, 2009 at 9:09 am

  4. @Jeff: Yeah, cleaning my plate is also an issue for me, as I can’t seem to stop doing it. Leaving food behind is practically a SIN punishable by death in my mind. It sure helps when I have someone else with me to finish my guilt food for me, but if I don’t then I end up leaving it.

    Reese

    March 4, 2009 at 9:42 am


Leave a Reply

