a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Must. Update. More. Often.

with 5 comments

Ha, is this thing on? And if it is, is anyone still listening?

I don’t know why, but I’ve been thinking of updating this thing more often. Let’s see how long my updates last this time before lapsing into a wretched state of abandonment. Maybe I just need to think of this more as a blog where I write about what I’ve been pondering lately, instead of something where I write “important stuff.” Wait, I never thought of my blog as where I would put “important stuff.” Isn’t what everyone writes on their blogs “important” at least to them? Otherwise, why write it down, right?

I digress.

Lately, I’ve been finding myself surrounded by new and interesting people. Sometimes I feel like they are people that I’ve known all my life, and we just happen to meet at this point. No, that’s not quite right. I feel like the people I’ve met lately are people familiar in that “I just know we get each other” kind of way. It’s been nice to just get along with new friends like this, with minimal annoying misinterpretations and awkward silences. Maybe it also has to do with my being more open to new connections and friends. That kind of optimism certainly can’t hurt, can it?

Of course, not everyone is my secret soulmate, but perhaps in opening myself up more, I have found new friends in people that I might never have given a second chance in the past. Being a rather exacting and decisive person, I’ve decided to put all that aside when it comes to meeting people and give the relationship a chance to flourish before making a snap decision that it just won’t work out. I know that not all the seeds I plant in my proverbial garden of friends will thrive, but perhaps some of them will given the right conditions. It will have been worthwhile to put aside my own prejudices at the outset.

Where was I going with this? Oh right, new friends. I’ve made a bunch, and am also trying to make a concerted effort to solidify friendships among the existing ones. I’m not quite as good at this as I am at meeting new people, and I can’t really say why. I think I tend to think of old friends as people who will always be there, whether I see them fairly often or not, and that’s not the right way to treat someone who is important to you. I know I should make more of an effort, but here I am not quite making the grade. Ugh. Something to certainly work on.

Here are some other things that have been on my mind lately, just for my own safe-keeping. Maybe I’ll write about them at some point in the future, or not.

  • I feel like Vlady’s reputation precedes me at times, and I don’t really like that.
  • So, so wish I lived further up the Peninsula so that heading up to SF to see friends wouldn’t be such a bother, but I so adore living down in San Jose!
  • If people think your photography is good, does that make you a good photographer? I’m starting to think not.
  • I wouldn’t mind doing more modelling instead of shooting, but I just don’t think I could get many shoots since I wouldn’t get naked or semi-naked. Plus, I need to work on being more diverse.
  • It’s hard letting go of insecurity, but it’s absolutely necessary.
  • Being lazy is totally not helping me reach my goal of becoming a skinny b*tch. The laziness needs to stop.
  • My heart feels full of love
  • Lately, I’m most interested in becoming a chameleon

Good morning, Christina

Written by Reese

March 30, 2009 at 2:38 pm

Posted in just life, shooting

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for the update Reese!
    I’m still listening and enjoying all that you write and share.
    It’s great to be surrounded by interesting people and it is a true challenge to build and maintain friendships.
    Thank you for being you.

    Chris Campbell

    March 30, 2009 at 3:00 pm

  2. @CC: Thanks for reading and commenting! It’s nice that we somehow manage to keep in touch over the years, though we’ve never met! Maintaining friendships is difficult, but it can totally be done. I know plenty of people who somehow manage to juggle friends, work, family, and personal time to themselves. Someday, I’ll get there too.

    Reese

    March 30, 2009 at 3:57 pm

  3. I’ve still got you in my RSS reader, so…

    I feel that my collection of weird cameras’ reputation precedes me, but it’s all I’ve got to go on.

    After having lived farther up the peninsula, it’s better down here. Despite the driving. The closer you get to living in San Francisco, the douchier it gets. I’m not sure how the people who live up there who aren’t douchebags stay not douchebags.

    You could always get fake boobs and do impor… ehrm… naw, that’s semi-naked too. I think the real problem is that there’s tons and tons of women who want to try out modeling and are willing to be at least semi-naked, so the mass audience is there.

    Maybe you could try cosplay modeling. I bet you’d look great in a Sailor Moon outfit. Next to a certain doppelganger wearing a Sailor Pluto outfit.

    Or you just need to finally get yourself a bike, so we can go traipsing through the wilderness with camera gear and lights strapped to the side. Which also helps your goal of becoming a skinny b*tch. According to gyminee, I burned [deep voice] TWO THOUSAND CALORIES on Sunday.

    wirehead

    March 31, 2009 at 9:13 am

  4. oh shit, i like the chameleon model, its like freeze frame acting. it reminds me of the works of cindy sherman.

    there are so many diff kinds friends. aquaintances are easy, no ties or obligations. hi, bye, see ya later. not that its a rule but maintaining friendship finding the connection, time & effort. its esp different w/ maintaining online & real friends. who can you call or chat w/ when you want to talk to? you kinda know. i think the best kind of friends are the ones you don’t have to say “let’s keep in touch” or “call me” because usually the ones that say that, which is many, don’t end up doing that and so you become disappointed. anyhoo, its all good. how’s ms. rita pita? hehehe

    maomau

    April 1, 2009 at 7:24 pm

  5. @Wirehead: Ha do you think cosplay modelling is in my future? Oh man…. that’s actually kinda scary. And yes, I still need to meet my twin so the world can implode! And yes… I will totally work on the bike thing, just using Frank’s for now and then eventually getting my own.

    @Anna: Aww… thanks so much Anna! Seriously, I am sort of going for the Cindy Sherman look, so I am super flattered that it reminded you of her!

    And yeah, friends are hard to find. It’s putting the time in that is difficult, especially when everyone has busy lives and it’s tough scheduling quality time together. I guess it’s just sometimes disappointing when I want that someone could be a friend and not just an acquaintance, but find that acquaintance is as far as we would ever get.

    Hehe… Ms RitaPita is doing well! She’s sleeping on the windowsill, happy as a clam right now!

    Reese

    April 2, 2009 at 10:31 am


Leave a Reply

