a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Some container tomato links

with 2 comments

Yesterday, Darren and I went to the Home Depot, where I bought some plastic pots and plants. I am now the proud owner of a Patio Hybrid tomato plant, an okra plant, and an indoor rosemary plant. I repotted them into their respective containers all as soon as we got back and am pretty happy with them so far (no horrific deaths yet).

Being the little online freak that I am, of course I ended up joining the Helpful Gardener forums and poking around for tips on growing tomatoes and okra. The forum is actually really huge and awesome, so if you’re into gardening at all, you might want to check it out. They have tips for all kinds of growing conditions, including tomatoes in containers, which is what I was looking for.

I learned that since I have a determinate tomato plant, it’s going to ripen everything in about 2 weeks and then die off. Wonderful. That’s ok. I guess we’ll just have a ton of tomatoes for a while and then hopefully we’ll make stuff out of them. I suppose sauce or something might be good. Or freezing them.

Oh and if you’re looking for some info on tomato varieties, University of Illinois has a good amount of info.

As for the okra, I just hope it doesn’t die right away.

Written by Reese

April 8, 2009 at 10:02 am

Posted in my little garden

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I don’t think one plant’s worth of tomatoes will overwhelm you.

    Just checked the weather today for the next ten days, we still get down to the mid 30s every once in a while. Going to wait a few weeks then get things set up again.

    Jeff D

    April 8, 2009 at 7:41 pm

  2. @Jeff: Frank loves tomatoes to death, so I really doubt we’ll get to keep any leftovers (assuming the plant makes it to maturity). It’s pretty much gardening weather all the time here, just a matter of finding the right plant to grow. Back east, I would definitely wait until the frost goes away. Maybe you could start some seedlings indoors.

    Reese

    April 8, 2009 at 7:51 pm


Leave a Reply

