a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Ikea herb kits

with 9 comments

Ikea herb kits
(Click through for the video)

I have an addiction, and it’s green things. Hello? Can anyone help me? Does anyone want to help me? No? Ok, I’ll just be on my merry little green-plant-buying way, buying up all the planties I can find!

Yesterday, D and I visited Ikea to eat apple cake. The funny thing is that Ikea shut early, and we happened to get to the Café after they had put up the rope saying it was shut (it shuts an hour earlier than the rest of the store). After a quick debate, we jumped the rope only to have someone tell us that they were indeed shut. Luckily, I used my overly-brazen charisma to convince him that we only wanted to buy apple cake, which was still in the cold case, and would he be a dear and let us? Lo and behold, he was kind enough to get it for us, so we got to eat apple cake while the employees cleaned up the dining area around us.

Afterwards, we had about 40 minutes before the rest of the store shut, so I suggested poking around at the plant section (who didn’t see this coming). While I was debating if a ceramic orange pot would fit around a plastic pot, Darren found these very adorable kits for growing herbs in a little plastic tub. The plastic tubs measure about 9cm or 3.5in in diameter at the top and there are three herb varities: parsley, chives, and basil.

I ended up buying two basils and one chives. At $2.99 each, I could not resist.

The really cool thing is that it comes complete with dirt in the form of a super-compressed dried pellet. You add water and it grows to fill the plastic tub! How amazing! Just sprinkle the seeds from the seed packet on top and then it’s ready to grow.

I don’t know if the thing will grow or not, but it’s really cute!

PS – This is the very first stop-action video I’ve ever made using iMovie, so it’s not very good. Ha. It was fun! I think I’ll try making more in the future.

Written by Reese

April 13, 2009 at 12:53 pm

Posted in shooting

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Enjoy it, you could have worse addictions.

    One word: MiracleGro. It isn’t quite organic but it doesn’t smell as bad as “natural” fertilizer either.

    Jeff D

    April 14, 2009 at 6:20 am

  2. @Jeff: So true, so true. I use this all-purpose MiracleGro pellet fertiliser, which is supposed to be longer lasting (shake only once in a while to disperse and then you’re good until the pellets disappear?). Yeah… It worked so far last year on my basil and minty plants, so hopefully it’ll be good for the tomatoes too!

    Reese

    April 15, 2009 at 10:40 am

  3. I said so on your flickr already, but the Dave and I got those planty things at IKEA this weekend… we still have to open the cups though. I told him we’d have a contest to see whose plant will grow faster and better – his chives or my basil.

    Well see what happens.

    joygoddess

    April 21, 2009 at 8:20 pm

  4. @JC: You are SO going to win that contest. Just glue his container shut and he won’t be able to even grow the dirt clod! Hahahaha…

    Reese

    April 22, 2009 at 11:54 am

  5. Plants update: Dave claims that either the wind or the cats knocked them both off the windowsill last week!!! So.. he threw them out and guess that’s that. Although, I still win because my basil was coming in, whereas his chives were still nowhere to be found!

    I smell conspiracy… 😛

    joygoddess

    May 7, 2009 at 5:14 pm

    • @JC: That is totally unfair!!!! He’s just a sore loser.

      I’m still rearranging my silverware tonight instead of going to that show
      though… Sorry. Never underestimate how much your friends suck.

      Reese

      May 8, 2009 at 11:40 am

  6. @JC: That is totally unfair!!!! He’s just a sore loser.

    I’m still rearranging my silverware tonight instead of going to that show though… Sorry. Never underestimate how much your friends suck.

    Reese

    May 8, 2009 at 11:40 am

  7. Way to double post on your own blog! have fun rearranging your silverware… not that it’ll matter once Hobo arrives.

    joygoddess

    May 8, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    • Shut up! I meant to do that. And I can’t wait for Hobo to steal all my stuff.

      Reese

      May 8, 2009 at 3:27 pm


Leave a Reply

