a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

100 Self-Portraits

with 5 comments

Doing a Project 365, where you take a self-portrait every day for a year, is really popular on Flickr. There are even multiple Flickr Groups dedicated to people doing it (365 Days and Project 365). It’s a neat little idea, but damn is it exhausting trying to do 365 self-portraits. You start out feeling really excited and inspired, and then the photos turn into a chore, something where you pressured to take a photo and post it, even if you aren’t so happy with it. Hmm… or at least that’s how I would feel I think.

Instead of committing for an entire year, I have decided to do only 100 Self-Portraits. Not only will I manage to get it done in less time, but I’m also not requiring that I take a photo every single day. I just want to do 100 creative self-portraits of myself and see how it turns out. I’m going to try to make a nice variety of them, but I’m sure that I will probably get bored with it at some point. Ha. Good thing I got that blonde wig! I guess it means that I can be more creative with the photos.

I’m not going to subject you guys to my SPs, but here are the first three.

1/100: Et maintenant, un film, s'il vous plaît

2/100: Miao miao

3/100: A day at home

Written by Reese

May 2, 2009 at 1:44 pm

Posted in shooting

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Second one is my favorite… third one looks like you’re in the middle of an exclusive interview with someone “important.”

    I do like that skirt and ring in the first pic… stylin’!

    joygoddess

    May 10, 2009 at 7:08 pm

  2. did my 365 when i turned 30, and continued with 52 weeks after that. i figure i’d tackle another 365 when i turn 40 🙂

    lucywshih

    June 4, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    • @Lucy: Ah the 365 is just so daunting, and I don’t know if I can do one every day. (Even though I could probably produce a photo everyday, it may not necessarily be interesting.) I admire people who can get it done!

      Reese

      June 8, 2009 at 5:11 pm

  3. yeah 365 was a real challenge, but i went into it not aiming to be creative all the time…it was definitely for documentation during a critical year of my life…i did set up weekly themes to help orient the daily photos

    lucy

    June 9, 2009 at 2:57 pm


Leave a Reply

