a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Polaroid isn’t dead!

with 3 comments

A while ago, I stumbled upon a Polaroid 210 Land Camera. It’s one of those cool looking old-fashioned cameras with bellows.

20: The weekend

Yeah, it’s pretty neato-speedo looking. The only bad thing is that is usually takes a 3 volt battery that has a really funny look to it (clip-on terminals on either end). I never really looked at replacing the dead battery because Polaroid stopped making film and I thought all was lost. Then, when a friend told me that I can actually use this camera with instant film that’s made by Fujifilm, I freaked out and decided to see if I could get it into working condition again.

I ended up doing a little bit of online research and found that I could simply replace the 3v battery with two 1.5v batteries and it would work again. As long as the bellows weren’t cracked (that produces light leaks) and the electric eye was wired correctly, the camera would make photos for me. I finally got around to getting a pack of Fujifilm FP-100C to test it out and it turns out that the camera works just perfectly without any light leaks. I did lose about 3 photos when I first tested it because the wiring was loose and the shutter was opening too fast and the photos came out black. Everything got ironed out and fixed now though.

Here are two shots:

25: Just a wisp of myself

Regal

The coolest thing about the Polaroid 210 Land Camera is that the image on the instant film is really big and fills the whole image space. The Polaroid back for the Hasselblad also takes Fujifilm FP-100C, but the image size is actually quite small:

15: Awkward self-portrait

Yeah, disappointing, huh? But now I can have full-frame polaroid images! They do seem a bit softer than the Hassy shots, but I have been enjoying that effect.

The biggest limiter for this whole deal is going to be the cost of the film. One pack of FP-100C costs about $8.50 for 10 shots from B&H. The local places here sell the packs for about $13 each. I can see my little habit getting expensive fast. Or maybe I can ask people to send me packs of film in exchange for knitted things? How many people out there could possibly want to trade me a pack of film for some handwarmers or a hat? Hmm…

Written by Reese

June 1, 2009 at 9:47 pm

Posted in shooting

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i’m honored to be shot by this awesome camera πŸ™‚ thank you so much for the hat reese!

    lucywshih

    June 4, 2009 at 9:16 pm

  2. @Lucy: Thanks for letting me shoot you with it (even if you were slightly out of focus and all). So nice meeting up with you and having a chance to chit chat.

    Reese

    June 5, 2009 at 12:17 pm

  3. Hey do you want the pack of Polaroid film I bought? It’s just sitting around here doing nothing πŸ™‚

    Jeff D

    June 8, 2009 at 7:50 pm


Leave a Reply

