a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Leftover yarn projects

with 5 comments

Scraps

I knit a lot of small projects like hats, scarves, and handwarmers. I would say that I have a really short attention span, too short to possibly make a sweater. Also, I’m kinda cheap, so that also prevents me from making a large item like a sweater or even a vest.

Having a lot of small projects means that I end up with a lot of scraps of leftover yarn that are simply too little to make a complete second project, and that means that I have been making a lot of little random squares using the leftover scraps. In our house, we use the scraps as cleaning rags, which may seem a bit weird, seeing as it’s a handmade, crafted item that’s just being used to wipe down the counters and floors. I like keeping a lot of these little scraps around so that I can simply toss them in the washer whenever they get too dirty to reuse.

What else can I do with the little leftover scraps?

Written by Reese

June 8, 2009 at 6:20 pm

Posted in shooting

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I don’t have scraps, but ma jumelle… I almost want to keep you in my pocket! 🙂

    chocokat0718

    June 8, 2009 at 6:22 pm

  2. Rodent bedding. (Get yourself a couple rats, they’re great pets.)

    Mouse pads. (The other mice.)

    Coasters.

    X-mas ornaments.

    Obscure mailings to strangers.

    Mud flaps.

    Toaster inserts.

    Eye patches.

    Napkin cozies.

    Paul

    June 8, 2009 at 8:12 pm

  3. wow, you are like pro-knitter! connect all your little knittings together & make a blanket?

    maomau

    June 9, 2009 at 7:45 am

  4. @Ma Jumelle: Aww!!

    @Paul: You totally forgot lens bag, which is what I made last night. Didn’t you sign up for one months ago?

    @Anna: Hahaha… patchwork blanket. Wow, that’s a lot of knitting.

    Reese

    June 10, 2009 at 9:06 am

  5. lens bag. awesome. yes. yay.

    Paul

    June 10, 2009 at 1:00 pm


Leave a Reply

