a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Digifilm.

with 4 comments

When I started with photography, I had a teeny digital that I would take everywhere. When I needed more capabilities, I took up film photography with my friend’s old Pentax K1000. Soon enough, I ended up with a digital SLR, the Nikon D50 and shot that to death until I went back to film again when a friend gave me his Canon A-1. You can only guess that from mini-film, I went to medium format, and wound up with my photo kit today: a Hasselblad 500 C/M, Nikon FM2n, that Canon A-1, and a Polaroid 210 Automatic Land Camera.

Phew.

Right now, I shoot a variety of film and digital. Film is mostly B&W medium format or instant film. The digital gets used when I want to take self-portraits or impulse shots. I’ve basically settled into a nice little idea of what tools I use to make what photos I want. It’s not strict, but I shoot mostly medium format B&W, colour instant film, and colour B&W. I don’t really know why I chose this way, but it seems to work for me.

I don’t even know what anyone else is going to care about reading this, but I have just wanted to get this whole scheme out of my head.

Also, I’ve been thinking about more seriously using instant film to capture life, so I bought a giant mess of Fuji Instafilm and received the lovely, velvety package in the mail this afternoon. Of course, I already loaded up the Pola Land Camera and took a shot at home. I need to work on focusing this camera, which means learning to tell how far things are in English units.

Daily labour

(This isn’t that shot. This is the last shot from the last pack of film that was in the Pola210. I’m such a tease. I probably won’t upload that other shot until tomorrow.)

Written by Reese

June 16, 2009 at 10:55 pm

Posted in shooting

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. haha. i enjoyed your entry. and i am jealous! i ordered only ONE pack of FP-100C film because thats all i can afford right now lol. lucky! congrats though!

    aileen

    June 16, 2009 at 11:27 pm

    • @Aileen: Oh believe me, I’ve been saving up for buying a ton of packs because it’s so much cheaper at B&H ($8.49) than it is at most photo shops here. I’m definitely trying to shoot more colour film stuff, which means instants for me!

      Reese

      June 17, 2009 at 8:04 am

  2. You’re insane, but that’s why I keep you around.

    I need to upgrade my digicam, this Cybershot DSC-W1 just isn’t cutting it anymore.

    joygoddess

    June 23, 2009 at 1:55 pm

  3. @JC: INSANE!! Yeah… upgrade! Cameras seem to be getting cheaper and cheaper these days.

    Reese

    June 27, 2009 at 8:20 am


Leave a Reply

