a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Improvement with practice

with 5 comments

I am having a hell of a time learning to focus this Polaroid 210. The scale in the viewfinder is in feet, which is apparently difficult for me to figure out, but you wouldn’t think so since I live in the US and everything here uses feet and miles. I had finally learned to focus the Holga, but now I have to figure out a whole new camera and it’s frustrating. I suppose that the good thing is that I can get feedback right away. With the Holga, I just focused and hoped that when I finally developed the roll everything would be happy. Then again, maybe it’s better to not get the feedback right away. With the Pola210 I feel frustrated more often than with the Holga. Lemme ‘splain…

The nice thing about the Holga is that I can focus and shoot and not worry if each and every shot came out. I just have to wait until the roll is done and I’m totally ok with that. With the Pola210, I get to see how each and every shot came out right after I take it and, on average, I’m displeased with the shots more often than not.

And then there is also the dust issue, which is driving me absolutely batty! After you peel the instant film apart, you have to wait a little bit for the coating on the photo to dry. Usually it’s all very straightfoward and you simply lay it on a table or something to let it dry, and hopefully nothing will fall on it while it does. I have not had the best luck with this. I tend to shoot the Pola outdoors and the photos are getting blown in the wind and a bit dusty looking. I tried sandwiching it in my notebook, but the paper in there always puts a bit of dust on it too. Right now I’m going to try using a topper of waxed paper to see if it prevents sticking, dust, etc. Yeah. Annoying.

Even with all these problems, I am really enjoying instant film. It’s fun to shoot colour again!

Written by Reese

June 17, 2009 at 8:32 am

Posted in shooting

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. wow really? hmmm i guess i will find out how well i can focus with my 250 land camera. this is my first land camera. i’m just hoping everything functions. lol. thats why i only splurged on one pack of film just incase lol. but i tried searching for pack film on b&h and nothing would show up. so i tried searching under “film” and all these films came up. i didnt want to look through every page. ehhh.

    i think i would prefer to shoot in color with the land. i like how the colors are always unpredictable. šŸ™‚

    i’m still a little bad at focusing with the xa. lol. its similar to the 250 focusing.

    aileen

    June 17, 2009 at 10:12 am

  2. @Aileen: Yeah, me and scale focusing are not good friends yet. I try to underestimate the distance because I heard that if you are going to err, focus a bit closer than you think and hopefully the DOF will fix everything.

    If you want to find it on B&H, search for Fujifilm FP-100C. It currently sells for $8.49 a pack, which is super cheap compared to most brick-and-mortar shops here; they usually sell for around $13-15 a pack here. I might get some of the B&W Fuji instant, but I really really love shooting colour again. I so rarely shoot colour film these days since I like doing my own developing at home. And I haven’t shot mini-film (35mm) in a long time! I really must get back to doing that too.

    Reese

    June 17, 2009 at 10:17 am

  3. Your problems are focusing; mine are lighting issues. There’s gotta be something we can do about this!!!

    joygoddess

    June 23, 2009 at 1:56 pm

  4. @JC: Still having lighting issues? Thought things were getting better?

    Reese

    June 27, 2009 at 8:21 am

    • I’ve always had lighting issues… bane of my existence!

      joygoddess

      June 28, 2009 at 1:25 pm


Leave a Reply

