a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Go by bike!

with 2 comments

DSC_5794

I’ve been really excited about riding my bike to work. Even though I don’t ride very far (1.8 miles in SJ and 2.2 in San Mateo each way, so about 8 miles round trip), I’ve been obsessively reading about All Thing Bikey. One of the things that I really worry about is fixing a flat. I have not had to ever fix a flat bike tire in my life (heck, I’ve never fixed a flat car tire myself either), so it actually scares me to death to think about getting a flat, possibly eating it while riding the bike, and then having to fix it on the side of the road (hopefully it won’t be a a very busy road).

While I was catching up on my internet alone time this morning after a morning run (finally!!), I was reading all about bicycle commuting on the Trek site. I first should tell you a little about my bike. It’s a Frankenstein bike, made by a friend out of parts that were going to be junked. (I’ve named my bike Dennis for no reason, other than I like saying that I went places wiht Dennis.) The frame is a sad looking blue Rock Hopper and all the other parts were taken off other old bikes. They’re good parts, just a bit old. Oh, and Dennis only has one gear, which makes him pretty light to take on and off the train.

As an aside, Dennis doesn’t look like he’s my bike apparently. On the CalTrain, the bike racks stack up to 4 bikes on top of each other. Hopefully, you have a destination tag so that you don’t get shut in behind a bike that’s going a few stops further than you. Dennis was already on the top of the rack, so I didn’t have to move any other bikes, but when I was moving him, a very nice rider asked me if I needed help moving that bike out of the way. (I guess Dennis is kinda ratty looking.) I told the guy that Dennis was my bike, and he looked a little surprised and chuckled. Maybe it doesn’t help that I was wearing my fancypants work clothes, so he thought I had the cruiser stacked under Dennis.

Oh wait, anyway…

The whole point of this post was to share the 1 World 2 Wheels site that I found that has a lot of neat little tips for people who want to start bike commuting. It’s a lot easier than you think and good for your body too. Plus, they have a video about learning how to change a flat, which is what I totally need to do!

Written by Reese

July 5, 2009 at 10:56 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Reese,

    The best thing to avoid flats is probably just to ensure your tire is always fully inflated. The most common flat is the “snake bite” flat, which occurs when you hit a bump and the rim pinches the tube causing two punctures (hence “snake bite”).

    Keep your tires pumped to about 60 lbs (for your bike) and you should be fine. You can also get special puncture proof tires, tubes and liners, but unless you’re having problems you can probably avoid those.

    And your bike, BTW, is perfect! I love the name 🙂

    Fritz

    July 5, 2009 at 10:02 pm

  2. Hehe, thanks for the tips Fritz! I hope I don’t have to fix a flat in the field, so best to do all the preventive measures like making sure everything is tip top!

    Reese

    July 9, 2009 at 9:43 am


Leave a Reply

