a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Happiness

with 7 comments

I don’t exactly know what happened, but I feel really happy these days. Undeniably, smile-on-my-silly-face happy. I would have to say that riding my bike to work has really helped with the happiness factor. I ride to the station in the brisk California summer mornings with a big smile. I don’t even mind the random catcalls from guys who are happy to see a skirt on a bike. When I get off the train, I hop on my bike to see how far I can get before the train catches up with me along that long stretch of road that runs along the tracks. And sometimes I wave at the train when it passes me, thundering by with its horn blasting.

Yes. Bike commuting has changed my life. The bike gets to go outside everyday, and I get to be the one to take him out. My legs feel energised in the mornings and I feel so happy to be out riding around when the sun is still waking up and the café across the street has a few people stumbling in looking for a wake-me-up.

Do you know what I think about when I’m not riding my bike? I’m usually busy planning the next place I’m going on my bike. I still don’t quite get biking as exercise with the spandex and speed and everything. I am more of a cruiser type girl who uses it to get around instead of her car. I’m usually not in a huge rush, and people are constantly passing me in the bike lane, which I think is really hilarious. I always think to myself, “Well, might as well pass me, speedfreak. Me and my single gear are already at top speed!” Haha… yeah, the spandex and speed crew totally make me giggle.

I have to head up to town tomorrow to meet with some friends, and I am totally trying to figure out how to do it all by bike. I know that it means a 1h40 train ride and figuring out how to get all the way to the Sunset from 4th and King and probably getting lost and complaining about going up and down hills, but I’m going to try to make it happen. I also plan to hit up the Sunday Streets in the Mission, just to see what I can see. It looks like a lot of fun, so why not!

Written by Reese

July 18, 2009 at 8:43 am

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. …and now you see why I’ve been so annoying in telling everybody I know how awesome life will be if they get on the bike. 🙂

    wirehead

    July 18, 2009 at 10:30 am

  2. @Ken: Hahaha… yeah but it finally somehow worked on me after like a year, so feel free to be more annoying. I’m not giving up my car though! I still use it for getting around at night until I get around to buying a set of lights.

    Reese

    July 18, 2009 at 10:42 am

  3. See, but you don’t have to.

    Consider how much more gas you’d burn if you were driving to work. Congrats! It’s like you bought a Tesla or a Prius, except without spending a bunch of money!

    wirehead

    July 18, 2009 at 10:48 am

  4. Haha, so true. Biking to work does make me better about driving around occasionally since I use a lot of Reese-power to get around usually.

    I am totally going to buy myself a front basket though. I just got my first full paycheck yesterday and realised that a $30 basket is not going to kill me, especially since I will really use it AND I can carry around a bottle of water in it!

    Reese

    July 18, 2009 at 10:54 am

  5. I completely understand the happiness and bike riding. There is something wonderful about riding and how it lets you get round efficiently and also allows you to be more connected to the world. People smile and wave at you and it just seems to make everyone a little bit happier. I think that I’m smiling more too now that I ride my bike more.
    Hooray for cycling!

    Chris

    July 19, 2009 at 5:26 am

  6. Dude, you are obsessed! Hahahahahaha! Glad things are going well for you though. I wish I could ride a bike around, but I’m too paranoid of other people running me over.

    joygoddess

    July 22, 2009 at 7:04 pm

  7. @Chris: Yes, biking does make you happy. Plus, it’s faster than plain old walking!

    @JC: Hahaha… yeah I would be afraid to be on a bike too in Cambridge. Them people are crazy!!

    Reese

    July 22, 2009 at 8:19 pm


Leave a Reply

