a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Personal Promises

with 2 comments

I have been making personal promises to myself to help make my life more positive and enriching (not that my life is terribly negative and not rewarding right now, but hey a little self-improvement never hurt anyone).

Find more local friends
I seem to make good friends with people who live across the world from me, or even just out of state. Heck, I make friends with people who live in SF and then find that we can only see each other so often. I tend to get up to SF only 2-4 times a month, depending on what kinds of events are planned and my "hot date" schedule with Mister (more on that later). What I really need to do is find more friends who live close to me, hopefully within biking distance so that we can hang out on a somewhat regular basis.

Well actually, I already have some friends like this that I keep in touch with on a very regular basis, so maybe it’s not that I need more local friends but that I need to…

Find more local girlfriends

For some reason, finding girlfriends is tougher for me than finding guy friends. I don’t exactly know why this is, but it is what it is, and I need to get out and find more lady friends that I can do girlie things with, like go shopping and meet for coffee and have dinner dates. It would be super awesome if I could find another bikey girlfriend to hang out with in San Jose, but I’m not going to hold my breath. Seems that a lot of the cool bikey girls I’ve met so far are still in college, or just recently out of college, and I feel like we’re in such different stages of our lives that maybe it’s tough to make it work. Well, maybe I’m losing sight of the big picture if I’m only looking for female companionship, so maybe I should just…

Surround myself with positive people
This is sort of a no-brainer, but I really like being around upbeat people. Not the people who think that Everything is Awesome and Good. No, I’m talking about people who don’t suck the life force out of those around them, and who have a generally positive outlook on life. Sure, anyone gets down once in a while, but negative people are so freakin’ draining and difficult to be around and I just cannot handle this for any extended period of time.

Ah positivity is great. It makes you feel good about life, it makes everyone around you feel good about life. Heck, it might even temporarily cheer up a perma-grump for a nanosecond or two. People who are positive are the ones who go out, actually DO things, learn about stuff, and generally are the ones in motion. I have really never met a positive person who was stuck in a rut and just happy with sitting there. It seems to me that positive people are constantly moving along in their own little stream, just bopping along and turning left and right as they see fit. When they run into an obstacle, they seem to just bounce off and try another way around instead of sitting there and staring at it.

Yes, this is what I am aiming for in my own life, so it only makes sense to get out and surround myself with other similar people so we can push each other along our little paths. Which leads me to the next topic…

Get out and meet strangers already
I can’t really do any of this stuff without going out and meeting strangers. I’ve been to a few parties this year alone where I didn’t know anyone else there, and you know what? It wasn’t as scary as I thought it would be. Talking to strangers is a little bit nerve-wracking, but it’s pretty freakin’ awesome when you randomly meet someone and you get along with practically no connection at all other than being at the same party.

Later this week I will actually be going to another party where I don’t know anyone else and I am really looking forward to it! I hope to find more friends that live close to me and have similar interests, but if I don’t find any, then that’s ok too. I’ll just keep plugging at it until I do.

And all of this going out and meeting new people is great, but everything starts at home so it’s important to…

Spend quality time with Mister
My Mister and I love each other, but damn if our schedules aren’t already so ridiculously packed with activities that it’s actually hard to find time to spend with each other. Our solution is actually to share an online calendar where we can see what the other person is up to and somehow work on being home together at least once a week. In addition to this, we’ve also introduced the idea of "hot dates" where we go to see a movie, or do some other activity we do together. And we get to hold hands. Yes, it is lovely and it reminds us to enjoy our lives together instead of constantly being on the go.

It’s good to be so busy, but sometimes it’s just good to spend an occasional evening on the sofa with your love next to you and the cat warming your lap.

Written by Reese

December 2, 2009 at 5:23 pm

Posted in just life

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What a lovely post, Reesie!
    You’ve inspired me. I need to do a lot of the same things in my own life.

    Chris

    December 3, 2009 at 9:50 am

  2. Thanks Chris!!

    Reese

    December 4, 2009 at 8:04 am


Leave a Reply

