a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Obsessions and friends

with 6 comments

I’ve recently learned that a few of my pre-bikey life friends are complaining a bit that my life is pretty much all biking lately. And not that I have to explain anything to anyone, but… it’s just what I’ve been obsessed with lately. I like to obsess about stuff, and I’ve moved from food to knitting to photography to baking/cooking and now to biking.

I guess I should also mention the RitaPita obsession. Of course, I’ve always been rather obsessed with my cat in the very normal "my cat is the best/cutest one in the entire world!" way that furry parents tend to be, so I guess that is an additional layer over all my other obsessions. Let’s face it, she’s part of my little family and I am always excited to see her when I get home at night and when I wake up in the mornings. She’s got her little personality quirks, but I couldn’t ask for a better cat when she’s snuggled up in my lap while I knit.

Oh where was I… right, obsessions.

The nice thing about my current obsession is that it’s leading me to meet an entirely different group of people! Let’s learn about the social aspects of some of my other obsessions:

  • Knitting was somewhat social when I got my ass to knitting group, but it was a mostly solitary activity that I did at home.
  • Baking and cooking is pretty much the same thing since I never got around to joining a dinner club where people have a moving feast that rotates amongst the members.
  • Photography is a pretty social activity since photographers like to plan meets and hang out together and shoot each other, but I still like shooting alone the best and I’ve been feeling a bit tired/bored of photography lately, so I haven’t felt like doing it as much.
  • Biking has been good because it’s automatically brought me closer to people that I see everyday on my commute, especially people on the train. Plus, it’s a nice social activity that you can do with others on the weekend as long as you share a common level of fitness.
  • The cat obsession really doesn’t do anything for me socially. It’s just part of my personality. Ha!

But anyway, [enter obsession here] is really awesome because I find myself delving into whatever world my obsession entails. I like meeting other people have the same obsession and I really like having all these different social circles where I have something in common with everyone. I have bike friends, knitting friends, blog friends, art/photo friends, drinking friends, and of course, regular friends that I’ve met and clicked with, even without a common hobby.

What’s even nicer is learning that some friends span more than one group. Having multiple interests with someone is no guarantee that you’ll get along, but it sure helps when it comes to spending time together. I can always ask N to go to an art gallery with me or to go out and try a new restaurant we’ve both been eyeing. Or I can talk photography with J over a strong cup of coffee and then ride our bikes around and just generally explore.

I’ve changed cities a lot in the past 10 years and somehow it’s always so comforting to know that no matter what city I move to, I immediately have an avenue for getting to know people and discover the place. A lot of it is really hit or miss, but it’s definitely a good place to start.

Written by Reese

December 8, 2009 at 4:34 pm

Posted in just life

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. call me crazy, but I kinda like the fact that I never know what you’re going to dive into next because it’s almost never something I’d do myself.

    Jeff D

    December 9, 2009 at 12:08 am

  2. Haha, yes unpredictability is good right and then when I get all excited about something I spread the love all around whether people like it or not. Ha. Good thing you don’t seem to mind!

    Reese

    December 9, 2009 at 8:08 am

  3. I don’t see my role as anyone’s friend as telling them what they can or should be doing or be interested in. But maybe that’s just me.

    Jeff D

    December 9, 2009 at 10:34 am

  4. You should come to one of the SJ bike partys if your into biking… http://www.sjbikeparty.org

    Wuss912

    December 9, 2009 at 12:18 pm

  5. @wuss912: I love SJ Bike Party! I’ve been to a couple of them, and went on a couple pre-rides too. Really quite fun and a nice bunch of laid-back folks.

    Reese

    December 10, 2009 at 8:16 am

  6. Who was complaining? I mock because I care!!! ❤

    joygoddess

    December 20, 2009 at 4:51 pm


Leave a Reply

