a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

The hazards of living makeup-free

with 2 comments

I do not wear makeup often, with the exception of mascara. I am terrible at applying concealer, blush, foundation, or eye makeup on a daily basis. Mascara, the waterproof and rub-proof kind, is just about the only makeup I can manage to put on everyday. I have a host of complaints about applying makeup, like worrying if a) it’s rubbing off, b) it’s coming off onto my clothes, and c) I applied it to heavily and I look freakish.

That said, I’m pretty sure that I look okay without makeup.

My natural look never really seems to bother me except when I am standing in the washroom next to a woman who does wear makeup, and this is where my competitive female edge comes in. I see her red lips, her perfectly drawn eyebrows, the thin lines of eyeliner that make her eyes pop and look large and luminous.

At the sink, I typically wash my hands, dry them on a paper towel, and then use the paper towel to wipe my face off. This is a habit I have, because I like the clean feeling this does for me. Of course, if I was wearing makeup, it would undo everything in one fell swoop. While I’m busy wiping my face off on the paper towel, the other woman is probably applying lipstick or touching up her makeup in the mirror.

There is really nothing wrong with the natural look. Most women look perfectly gorgeous when they look natural. I love the natural look on most women as it gives me the feeling that they are low-maintenance and confident in their beauty and that exudes a whole other kind of beauty.

But of course, this doesn’t really help me when I am busy watching the woman next to me re-apply her lipstick. I will suddenly think my own lips look too pale, my skin is speckled with spots and is much too yellow/brown, and my eyebrows are looking spotty which gives me a surprised look. I realise that this is all part of being competitive with other women, but it doesn’t stop me from thinking it.

None of this goes through my mind when I find myself alone at the sink; that’s usually when I think that I look pretty darn good, toss myself a smile, and fluff my hair a little.

Written by Reese

December 9, 2009 at 5:51 pm

Posted in just life

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Imagine make-up on men: a man with luminous eye lashes, and lined rims, or rouge on, with a touch of masacara. Looks pretty silly right? I applied that train of thought to women, and it worked. I don’t think I’m bare anymore. Rather, I think I’m clean and serious!

    Granted that’s an extreme line of thought and there is such thing as light make-up, but I, like you, also find it very distracting. Unfortunately society values women to maintain unsustainable features of themselves and it often results to us worrying about ourselves compared to other women, but I don’t bother upholding that idea anymore.
    Don’t worry! Be Happy! Sorry for the mini-rant!

    Jeannie

    December 10, 2009 at 12:00 am

  2. If you don’t need it (and you don’t) then it’s just a waste of time and money.

    Jeannie, I don’t think I saw makeup but in Japan I definitely saw men with plucked or even shaved eyebrows. I still don’t get why, though.

    Jeff D

    December 10, 2009 at 2:53 pm


Leave a Reply

