a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Slow as molasses cookies

leave a comment »

Yesterday I mixed up a batch of molasses cookies. Since I didn’t have time to bake them, the dough is sitting in the fridge right now. Leaving dough overnight in the fridge is a tried and true method of making cookies taste better. The cookies will have a better consistency and the flavours will be more intense. I haven’t actually done this before with molasses cookies, but I’m hoping it will give all the spices a chance to really infuse the dough and make the final product spicy and intense. I guess I’ll have to see when I bake them.

I am almost positive that I will be taking a completely ridiculous amount of photos of the cookies when I do end up baking them, so next post will have the photos.

Want the recipe? It’s really quite simple and a basic cookie recipe and you may already have most of these ingredients in your house (except for maybe the molasses).

Note: You may have to adjust the amount of spices in your cookies. I like mine to be pretty strong, but you may not like yours to be so spicy.

Slow as molasses cookies
3/4 c sticks butter
3/4 c white sugar
1/4 c packed brown sugar
1 large egg
1/4 molasses
2 cups flour
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ginger
1/2 tsp cloves
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp salt

In standard cookie making fashion, cream the sugar and butter, add the molasses and egg, and beat to combine. Then add all the dry ingredients (I usually measure them out onto a waxed paper before slowly pouring them in).

Chill the dough overnight or longer (I hear 36 hours is perfectly long enough). Alternately, you can bake them right away too if you don’t have time to wait.

Preheat the oven to 375F. Form the dough into balls and drop onto a parchment paper lined cookie sheet. You can roll the dough in sugar if you want a pretty top to the cookie. Bake 8-12 minutes each, cooling for a minute on the sheet before transferring to a rack.

Slow as molasses cookies

Written by Reese

December 10, 2009 at 1:40 pm

Posted in eating

Leave a Reply

