a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

The requisite year-end wrap up

with 4 comments

Wow, 2009 has been a crazy year for me. Well, I should say that it has been crazy, but also good. I held not just two, but three jobs, enlarged my circle of friends, reconnected with friends from long ago, and got my butt on the bike. Ah yes, it has been a really good year. A lot of not-so-great things happened, but I do feel that when I look back at 2009, I see the good happenings far outweighing the bad.

I think the most important thing that happened to me this past year has been getting off freelance work and starting a steady job (well, two of them actually). I really missed that daily routine of waking up at a consistent time, heading off to work for the day, and then heading home. Sure, jobs are sort of a killjoy when it comes to doing fun stuff during the day, but I think I finally realised that I am a Creature of Habit, and I really do need a schedule to keep me in line.

The second most important thing that has happened also has to do with the steady jobs: starting to bike commute. Since starting a job, I’ve quit running daily and have turned to biking as my daily activity (it also helps that biking makes me feel happy too). Ah, it is so very nice to be on my bike with the wind/rain/cold in my face. It makes me feel like I’m really living my life. And with the bikey life, so have come the bikey people that I’ve met both online and off, and meeting new people always seems to make me very happy.

Right… enough about that.

2010 is shaping up to be a pretty awesome year as well. I have some big personal plans for the next year. Here is a very short list of what I’d like to accomplish in the coming year.

1. Ride my bike
2. Smile at strangers everyday
3. Meet new people
4. Deepen the current worthwhile relationships
5. Pet the cat
6. Learn
7. Be passionate about life
8. All hail the positivity

Yeah ok, so I’m a bit vague. So sue me.

Today I met with an old college friend that I hadn’t seen in almost 10 years. It was really interesting to find that while we weren’t very good friends in college, I could see us becoming better friends since we seem to be more alike and have more similar values and ideas about life now. I hope that we might be able to give our friendship another chance if she ended up moving to the Bay Area at some point.

Our conversation also confirmed my belief that life is all about the people that you choose to surround yourself with. And yes, when it comes to friends, you do have a choice. Why spend your valuable time on non-rewarding relationships when you could spend that time creating new relationships. I guess that’s why I tend to focus my resolutions on the relationships and people I have in my life. Hell, people tend to be the main focus of any personal goals I set for myself.

It is all about the people.

I wish you all a happy, fulfilling, and wonderful 2010! It’s what you make of it, so try to make it a good one.

Written by Reese

December 31, 2009 at 5:03 pm

Posted in just life

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. happy new year, reesie! i’m glad we “met” in 2009! šŸ™‚

    carolyn (girlreaction)

    January 1, 2010 at 10:16 am

  2. Thanks girl! It’s been great meeting you too and here’s to a merry and fine 2010!

    Reese

    January 1, 2010 at 11:11 pm

  3. HNY! to more biking, steady job, friends & food!!

    maomau

    January 4, 2010 at 10:22 am

  4. @Anna: Yes!! Happy new year to you too!!

    Reese

    January 7, 2010 at 8:16 am


Leave a Reply

