a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Weighty problems

with 3 comments

Weight is a touchy subject for some people, depending on the circumstances. When someone has lost (or gained) weight and is now looking more healthy than before, then it’s usually a good thing that they (sometimes) don’t mind talking about. It’s when someone has moved in the unhealthy direction that it may become a touchy subject.

Now, I am not about to go pointing fingers at anyone, and this is my blog, so I may as well discuss my own weight and my feelings about it. After all, I can be sure of my own feelings about my weight, while I can only conjecture as to how other people might feel about theirs.

I grew up as an overweight kid. I knew I was overweight, but I was also pretty darned healthy and never really had a reason to be fitter since I was healthy (no horrible sicknesses and could still do what I wanted physically). Sure, when it came to the subject of boys, the ones I liked usually didn’t give me a second glance, probably because of my physical appearance. I wasn’t very into sports, simply because I wasn’t fast or nimble enough. I spent a lot of time reading books, studying for school, and practicing the piano. I was used to being the girl that had to make up for what she lacked in physical appearance by having the big personality and brain.

Now, don’t you go thinking that I was huge or anything. I was definitely not in the obese category, but I was certainly out of the normal category. I would put myself squarely in the overweight category through college.

It was after college that things really started to get out of hand. Having grown up heavy, I never really thought much of the fact that I would have to keep buying new clothes as I gained weight, but the problem was that I was getting older and bigger and constantly finding that my clothes didn’t fit me as well as they used to.

These days, things are different. I’m still not exactly sure of why I decided to pick up running as a hobby, but it stuck and now I’m much lighter than I used to be. I get a lot more attention from the opposite sex these days, but maybe that also has to do with my own confidence and how that comes across to others and not really my physical appearance.

I would estimate that I am now the same size as I used to be near the end of middle school (wow, that is a SCARY thought). Actually, I may now be slightly slimmer than I was then (ok, this entry gets scarier by the minute). Ha, so this means I was either YOOOGE in middle school, or I’m teeny now.

I’m thinking it’s the former.

Since I’ve been thinking about this a little lately, I wonder how it is for other people who have gone opposite me (grown up thin and plumped up over the years). It makes me wonder what people think about their weight when they see it going up. Are they afraid? Do they do something about it? Do they attribute it to just "getting old" and "that’s just how things are"? Or maybe they’re in denial and don’t really want to deal with it.

I wonder if people even think about it all? Life gets so hectic that sometimes it feels like months and maybe years pass by before a thought like that might cross your mind.

Maybe this just means I have too much time on my hands, which I probably do.

It seems like an easy equation to me, the whole calories in and calories out thing. I know it’s harder than it sounds, but it’s doable. But wait, that is a whole other blog entry.

I’m not asking anyone to share their thoughts on this topic, just sort of wondering aloud about these things…

Written by Reese

January 14, 2010 at 3:35 pm

Posted in just life

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. First off, you lack nothing in physical appearance (and I’ve seen heavy Reese and current Reese) so I know of what I speak. Remember Occam’s Razor. “Men are stupid” is a far more simple answer.

    I was always super active and a bit overweight but never really thought about it. I was playing some sort of sport every night of the week up until my senior year of college when I blew out my knee. Unfortunately I lacked the self awareness to change my eating and boozing habits and quickly put on like 40lbs and have been struggling with my weight ever since.

    Once I get myself down to where I should be I’m going to grab my backpack and load it up so that wearing it puts me at my max weight and go for a walk, just to see what I was carrying around for no reason all those years.

    Jeff D

    January 14, 2010 at 4:02 pm

  2. I think it’s an interesting political issue.

    Everybody tells me that I look much healthier now. Now that I’m skinny. For various reasons, we *presently* associate skinny with healthy.

    The interesting thing is that the *real* change in my health, when my blood sugar was actually under control and I could have sugar again, happened before everybody started noticing I got really skinny. Everything since has been an effort to get faster and better at climbing.

    But it’s a political thing. Especially because if you make a generalized position like “America is getting fat”, you aren’t actually expressing a refutable critique of any one person. But you are making a wide swath of people feel guilty… and for at least some of those wide swath of people, feeling guilty about not measuring up is going to make things worse.

    There’s also some folks I know where it would be awfully nice if they’d put some weight on. Hm.

    wirehead

    January 14, 2010 at 4:49 pm

  3. @Jeff: Keep up the good work, dude, and you’ll be putting on that backpack anyday now. I don’t know if I could wear a 70 pound backpack anymore. The funny thing is that I was probably somewhat stronger when I was heavier because I had to carry around all the extra weight. Now I don’t know if I could carry it for a whole day! Ha.

    @Ken: It really is a political issue, now that you mention it! I do think that it’s more of a matter of healthy vs unhealthy. Plenty of skinny people I know are what you might call fat-skinny; they’re naturally thin, but never exercise and get tired after running a block for the bus.

    For what it’s worth, I understand what you mean about getting healthy on the inside before it starts to show, but let’s face it, people can only see what’s on the outside (unless they are out doing activities with you and have a chance to notice that you are more fit than before). But yes… the skinny thing is definitely a nice extra bonus to getting fit!

    Reese

    January 16, 2010 at 9:35 am


Leave a Reply

