a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Five for Friday

with one comment

I just realised that I completely forgot to do the "10 for Tuesday" blog thing. Wow, way to drop the ball after the first day. Anyway, maybe "Five for Friday" would be a better way to wrap up each week. Tuesdays are kind of in the middle of the week, so it’s hard to remember to write them up.

So right, here we go with Five for Friday:

1. Cute Lunchtime

Except for the days when I meet with Jason for lunch, I brown bag it without fail. Yes, I am a diligent brown bagger. I typically eat a cheese sandwich (sometimes I get fancy and put fried egg whites in!). I usually put some spicy mustard in there too, and maybe some sliced zucchini if I’ve got them.

Anyway, I bring my lunch in this lunchbox, made by Built NY and designed by Stephen Savage, a children’s book illustrator. The bag is perfect for a sandwich and a piece of fruit and features a super-cute dog face on it. (I was going to put a link here, but I can’t find the products on the Built NY site anymore. Just take my word for it that it’s cute.)

More than one person has looked at it and said that it’s really cute. Someone even asked if it’s Sanrio.

2. Shifting by feel

Girl Blue has friction shifters, so I do not get to "click" up and down gears. Instead I have two knobs that I move back and forth until I feel the gears click into place. When I first started riding her, I thought shifting was really hard, and I always had to look down to get used to what positions corresponded with the different gears. These days, I notice that I can shift solely by feel and rarely look down to check that the shifters are in the right position. I feel that much more accomplished.

3. Hot tea to warm up

Like most offices, mine is kept frigidly cool all year, so I have been rather obsessed with drinking hot tea all day to help warm up. I bought a bunch of bulk tea from SpecialTeas.com and have been happily drinking the following:

– Superior Grade Organic Rooibos
– Egyptian Chamomile
– Peppermint, Cut-leaf Organic
– English Breakfast Blend

I also have a box of green tea that Frank’s parents brought back for me during one of their trips to China. The tea is actually made of whole leaves, like medium green needles, and I think it is only lightly fermented so it retains the very grassy, fresh taste to it.

4. Lentils for health

Lately, I’ve been on a lentil soup kick. Lentils are not only economical, but also quick to cook and can take on whatever flavour you give them. The latest recipe was a black bean and lentil soup, made with a bit of tomato sauce. It is thick and hearty and contains all my vegetables and protein servings. It keeps me full without weighing me down and it’s a nice hot dinner.

5. Beer for health (?)

If you know me, then you know that I like beer. After we returned from our Germany trip, I told myself that I wasn’t going to waste my beer calories drinking crappy beer, so I have been picky about what I drink these days. If I’m going to drink my calories, I might as well drink something tasty. This is totally a case of preferring one small, high-quality beer to 2 (or three) low-calorie, watery beers.

The current beer of choice is Warsteiner, which adverts itself as "the queen among beers" in German on the label. It’s easy to find and relatively inexpensive. We’ve been buying it from Trader Joe’s, a six-pack for about $7. I will usually follow my dinner with one (I use it as a signal to my body that I am done eating for the night), so a six-pack lasts a decent amount of time.

Hmm… 4 out of 5 on my list are about food or drink, and the other one is about biking. Ha. I suppose that is pretty indicative of my life. Next week, I’ll have to put more friend- or Frank-related items in there!

Written by Reese

January 15, 2010 at 11:49 am

Posted in just life

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Friction shifting gives you a lot of flexibility. Because I’m now addicted to my clicky thingies, my gearing setup requires significantly more thought to tweak with.

    wirehead

    January 16, 2010 at 11:54 pm


Leave a Reply

