a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

5 on Friday

with 8 comments

Wow, is it Friday already? The week seems to have gone really quickly. Ok ok… I’ll just get straight to my week’s list.

1. Bike commute advocate in the making
Got in touch with the bike commute organiser at my work’s cycling club and am going on a bikey lunch date with him to discuss possible future projects. I do love getting people excited about bike commuting, so it’ll be great to talk to someone about actually implementing some projects.

2. New 27" aluminum wheels
Tonight I will go to meet a guy who is giving me his old Schwinn Le Tour with 27" aluminum wheels. I posted to my cycling club about options for changing out my steel wheels for better braking and he said he had an old bike he could just flat out give me to cannibalize for parts. Needless to say, I am excited!

3. Not one, but two hot lunch dates with J
We usually only have lunch once a week or less, but this week, we have the chance to have lunch twice, and it’s pretty exciting. Our lunches are always ridiculously fun.

4. Satsuma oranges are amazing!
Last week we saw some satsuma oranges at the market, so we bought a bunch and I ate them all within a few days. It made me really sad to finish them, but earlier this week I arrived home to find that Frank had gone out and bought another giant bag of them during lunchtime. Aww… I am the luckiest girl in the world!

5. Ideal body weight
I checked a couple websites to see what my ideal weight is for my height and found that I should lose another 20 pounds. Wow… I’m going to try to lose another 15 pounds just to see if I can do it. I will never be one of those really skinny girls, but I think I could stand to lose a bit more. The plan is good old-fashioned healthy food and exercise. It just works.

Written by Reese

January 22, 2010 at 11:15 am

Posted in just life

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Reesie,

    What are you going to do with the old bike?!?!? Where do I sign up for “First Right of Refusal” on that? πŸ™‚

    jack

    January 22, 2010 at 12:49 pm

  2. If you’re going by BMI then be aware it does not take muscle into account. Muscle is much denser than fat so if you’re building muscle then you may get thinner without losing weight.

    Jef Poskanzer

    January 22, 2010 at 6:57 pm

  3. @Jack: Nice try, but I’ve already got the poor Le Tour in my evil grasp! The frame is downstairs in the basement and the wheels are upstairs with me and Blue. I’ll have to clean them up before I pop them on and ride. I also have to clean up the rear cassette and maybe move Blue’s cassette onto it. I’m so freakin’ excited!

    @Jef: Ya that’s a good point. I can’t go solely on body weight alone, but I do know that I could stand to lose some fat for sure. I tend to go more on how my clothing feels than what the scale says.

    Reese

    January 22, 2010 at 10:01 pm

  4. I think your mission should be to found a south bay bike kitchen/co-op.

    wirehead

    January 22, 2010 at 10:11 pm

  5. @Ken: Hmm… yeah we definitely need one down here.

    Reese

    January 24, 2010 at 10:51 pm

  6. Oh, and incidentally, here’s some cheap wheels I found for the Le Tour while trying to figure out the wheel situation for my bike:

    http://www.jensonusa.com/store/product/WH405B00-Dimension+W+Alex+X404+27+Road+Wheel.aspx

    wirehead

    January 25, 2010 at 8:02 pm

  7. @Ken: Haha… I am not sure how much work is involved in setting up the Le Tour to be ridable, probably just a good cleaning and a new chain and probably a good lube job (god, that always sounds so DIRTY!). I actually can’t use the Le Tour’s wheels on Blue anyway because the axle is too thick to fit the dropouts. LAME…. Looks like I’ll settle for fixing up the Le Tour and just getting softer brake pads for Blue and dealing with the brake issues.

    Reese

    January 25, 2010 at 10:12 pm

  8. Too thick? Meaning the spacing between the rear dropouts is wrong? You can spread Blue’s booty: http://sheldonbrown.com/frame-spacing.html

    Or you can just fix up the Le Tour and go drop-bars. πŸ™‚

    wirehead

    January 25, 2010 at 10:55 pm


Leave a Reply

