a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Reconnecting

with 4 comments

This weekend I got to see a friend from Boston who moved to San Francisco. It’s been a long time since we’ve hung out, and it was really good to see her. I was pretty amazed that we seemed to get along well and I am already thinking of setting up another meeting with her to hang out and talk more, but I’m not quite sure what to do.

Lately I’ve been meeting with people I haven’t seen in a long time. Usually, I’m a little wary of meetings like this because sometimes I’m expecting them to be a certain way and they are sometimes different. I’ve been very fortunate because I’ve been able to get along quite well with most of the friends that I’ve attempted to reconnect with. Well, maybe I just think we get along and the other person is kinda "blah" on me, but I’m hoping the feeling is truly mutual. People change with time and it has been very comforting to find that I can still get along with people I haven’t seen in years. We grow and sometimes we grow closer towards a complementary relationship.

I’m trying to think of something fun to do with her next! I’ve lately realized that I prefer to have something to do with a friend, rather than just doing a lunch or coffee meet. I’d like to set up an activity (e.g., ice skating, shopping trip, photo walk, karaoke outing) for us to do. I never seem to be very close to people that I only see over mealtimes, and maybe it’s because we just need to have more in common than eating a meal. A meal can bring friends closer together and lets you catch up, but I do believe a shared activity/interest does more.

A perfect case in point is my friendship with J. We try to meet for lunch during the week, but we also do other things together outside of that. We both like photography so it’s rather easy for us to get together for a photo walk around town, maybe to meet other photographers, or just the two of us. Having that common hobby really does help to bring us together and make our friendship more interesting!

But anyway, back to my Boston friend. Since she’s new to San Francisco, maybe a good idea would be to pick a neighbourhood and do a little walking tour around to see what’s there. Or maybe we could go to a bar together and check out the scene.

Seriously, this makes me wish that I lived closer to SF so I could get up there more easily to see my friends. I tend to make a lot of friends who live in SF and it can be difficult to see them as often as I’d like when the train ride is 1.5 hours and the drive is about 50 minutes. Even cutting the train ride in half to 45 minutes would encourage me to head up to SF almost every weekend. I already have my Caltrain pass, so it would be that much easier to hop on the train.

The only other solution is to stay here in South Bay and simply find more friends here. I have yet to find a circle of girlfriends, and I really need to work on that.

Written by Reese

January 25, 2010 at 1:05 pm

Posted in just life

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What towns would be 45 minutes from SF?

    Jeff D

    January 25, 2010 at 8:51 pm

  2. According to the Caltrain timetable, it looks like Belmont, San Carlos, and San Mateo would fit the bill. Just a matter of looking for places there and also seeing how bad the commute would suck for Frank too. Ugh… It’s really too bad he’s not bikey because then his commute would be pretty easy if he took the train.

    Reese

    January 25, 2010 at 10:16 pm

  3. perhaps you can connect bikeyness to the ability to play longer shifts in his hockey games? 🙂

    Jeff D

    January 25, 2010 at 10:50 pm

  4. Ha, the boy burns enough calories as it is. He does NOT need to get any skinnier with more cardio. Hahaha… Besides, he doesn’t know how to “take it easy” on the bike. It’s race-time all the time! So that means it’s sweaty-time when he gets to work…

    Reese

    January 25, 2010 at 10:52 pm


Leave a Reply

