a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Five on Friday: Get better edition

with 4 comments

Good old Five on Friday… or was it Five for Friday? No matter… for this week, let’s call it Five on Friday since that seems to make a lot more sense to me today. Maybe that’ll change next week.

1. Reading – O Pioneers!

What can I say, I like to read classics and I will often read and re-read the same book over and over again if I like it. I can’t even tell how many times I’ve read Franny and Zooey (the best Salinger book in my opinion). Yeah, I liked it that much. Anyway, the re-read of the month is O Pioneers! by Willa Cather. I really love how real her characters feel, how heavy they seem to me.

2. Wellness, or rather, unwellness

I got some kind of horrid food poisoning earlier this week, which was so bad that I actually stayed home from work. Something you should know about me is that I typically refuse to stay home from work unless I am really and truly sick (can barely stand or sit upright for more than 10 minutes or am puking just about everywhere). Yes, I was that sick, so I stayed home from work one day. I’m still not feeling so great, but I’m taking it easy and not riding to work since I can’t really eat much and Not Eating + Bike Riding = Fainting and Feeling Crappy.

3. Bikeylife + friends

hey cutie. by meligrosa

This past weekend, I got to have two days of bikey goodness! Saturday I went on one of the SJ Bike Party test rides and met some cool people (and had beers with them afterwards). Sunday I took my bike up to the city and got to ride Blue all over the place, from coffee with my bikey ladyfriend to brunch with the gays and back home again.

4. Bike polo with the SJF kids

Wednesday was the very first bike polo game for the SJ Fixed kids and boy was it fun! I spectated only since I wasn’t feeling well enough for any activity. It was the first time most people had ever played, so it was pretty amusing watching people get the hang of it. By the time I took off though, everyone was getting pretty good! I can’t wait for next week’s games.

5. Oh my Mister

Mister has been an absolutely doll while I’ve been sick, and has worried and fretted over me all week while I lay helplessly pinned down by the 7 lb cat. I love that guy, I swear.

Written by Reese

February 5, 2010 at 11:06 am

Posted in just life

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey – my coworker is big into the bike polo scene up here in SF. If you ever want to check them out, let me know and I can hook you up w/him! http://sfbikepolo.com/

    Laurel

    February 5, 2010 at 12:40 pm

  2. Oooh awesome! I have actually seen them play before up at GGP and it was pretty neat. They were dressed up and everything! The SJF kids don’t get dressed up and most of them are on fixies or single speeds, so not as classy, but just as fun to watch!

    Reese

    February 6, 2010 at 10:56 am

  3. Hooray for Willa Cather.

    Commuter Biker

    February 11, 2010 at 3:13 pm

  4. @Commuter Biker: Yay indeed!

    Reese

    February 14, 2010 at 10:40 pm


Leave a Reply

