a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Five on Friday: still getting better edition

with 3 comments

I have not been up to much at all lately, especially because I managed to catch a cold (from Frank of course) last Saturday and decidedly stopped doing much except rest and try to get better. It’s working, but it’s slow. I think I am almost over the bug today, but it has taken a while!

1. In sickness and in health
As I explained above, I caught a cold and have been fighting it all week.

2. An amazing lunch date
Jason and I had a pretty amazingly WIN hot lunch date this week! Our lunch dates are usually pretty awesome, but this was really spectacular! It makes me sad because he’s leaving for a 3-week-long business trip next week and I will definitely miss our hot lunch dates while he’s gone.

3. These boots are made for… biking?
A few months ago, I’d bought a pair of Ecco goretex-lined boots (dorky, I know). I got them specifically for rain riding since I have no other waterproof footwear that is fit for work. A few weeks ago, one of the teeth on the right foot’s zipper deformed and it made it hard to open and close the boot. I called Zappos and they said I could exchange them for another pair, which I did. I finally wore the new pair yesterday and they are as amazingly comfortable and wonderful as the first pair.

On my way to work, I was thinking that I probably put in more "biking steps" than walking steps in these boots on any average day. On most days, I have a pretty sedentary desk job, so I mainly walk around my building, but I do bike to work a lot, so I probably have more "bike steps" put in. Funny thought.

4. On devouring books and other things
A friend lent me her copy of The Omnivore’s Dilemma and I have been diligently reading it on the way to and from work each day. If has really made me think about where my food comes from and how big of a role the food industry plays. I like to think of myself as a simple person who doesn’t eat much processed food compared to the average American, but I don’t really think too much about the differences between Big Organic and Small Organic and all the fine nuances of what free-range vs pasture-raised vs all-natural even mean. Definitely interesting and stimulating reading.

5. Get strong, like the strong man
I’ve been slowly adding in random strength exercises into my normal day. I get to work my lower body everyday when I bike to work, but my upper body doesn’t get too much. My upper arms have always been a bit slack, so I really want to get them tightened up, hence the immediate addition of upper body strength exercises. For example, at work when I am waiting for water to heat up in the microwave, I will do chair dips in the breakroom (and yes, people have walked in and caught me doing them!).

I need to actually start an actual full-body strength routine that will work my core more and tuck in my tummy, but I’ve been happy so far with the results on my upper arms and shoulders. I’ve gotten much stronger and definitely slimmer. Oh the body is a magical machine! Input, output… how nerdy.

Written by Reese

February 12, 2010 at 11:10 am

Posted in just life

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. love reading your weekly thoughts Reese! Excited to see you for dinner tonight and I hope that you are feeling much better today!!!

    Farbs Farber

    February 12, 2010 at 12:00 pm

  2. 1) Silly girl. Don’t you know that the in thing is Ugg boots, not Ecco boots. Preferably paired with American Apparel leggings guaranteed to cause a visible cameltoe on 20% of women.

    2) I have a standard rant I ought to post properly. We need a new word to replace “Organic” that can’t be used as a “checkbox” on somebody’s advertisement. Because it’s too easy for big companies to soothe you with words like “Organic” and “Local” and “Natural” while selling you crap that’s bad for you, the environment, and your little dog too.

    3) Best core exercise for the belly area is to learn how to bunny-hop your bike.

    wirehead

    February 12, 2010 at 12:46 pm

  3. @Sarah: Thanks for stopping by and reading! It was great seeing you for dinner. Hope you had a great weekend!

    @Ken: Ha! Great comment, first of all. And yes, I am SO out of fashion! I do need to get myself some Uggs and leggings with a tank top, scarf, and gloves. Because that makes the most sense.

    As for hopping my bike…….. I will work on it with Dennis, but no promises.

    Reese

    February 14, 2010 at 10:39 pm


Leave a Reply

