a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Five on Friday: Extra Bikey and Romanticky Edition

with 4 comments

I’ve got a great week recap for you today. It’s extra bikey and extra romanticky. Yeah……. Good times living the WinLife.

1. Lovey dovey times
This past Sunday was Valentine’s Day and Mister went all out for us! We were headed up to SF for a fancypants dinner, so he decided to book a hotel for the night. Seriously. I felt whisked away and it was super romantic and awesome. Yeah. *gag*

2. Holiday bikey life
I oraganised a little holiday bike ride on Monday since I had the day off work (it was President’s Day here). We met at Millbrae and rode part of the Bay Trail down, which was super scenic. It started out really foggy, but it soon burned off and we had a really nice ride down. The weather was pretty perfect and we hit a good social pace with plenty of rest stops and photo ops. Fun times! The best part was that I invited two new bikey friends (uh, hotties) along and I’m hoping we can go on more bike rides soon. Always nice to meet new people!

3. A random day off work
There was a city-wide power outage where I work, so we were all sent home on Wednesday. What I should have done was ride all the way home (see #4 below), but since I was unprepared and didn’t have the directions printed out, I wasn’t sure I could figure it out on my own. It was super nice, however, to take a daytime train home, get home by noon, and manage to see a friend for coffee. I spent the rest of the day split between randomly tooling around downtown and sitting at home petting the cat.

4. You friend junkie, you!
Oh, this is just about my favourite part of the list, the friend part! I am such a friend junkie that I always get excited for meeting up with people.

It was really nice to ride with L, I, and C on Monday. I’m trying to get to know L and I better, so it’s really cool that we have biking in common and I haven’t seen C in ages so it was great to catch up with him.

Last Friday, I got to see good friend N for dinner and then also again randomly on my day off. It has been a while since we’ve hung out, so it was nice to have the chance to see him twice in one week. Yes. Awesome.

And finally the best part of this week’s friend activities… I got to see my very favourite person J before he took off for a three-week business trip! On Sunday, before heading back home, we met up with him for lunch (well, we actually just watched him eat lunch since we foolishly ate the free breakfast buffet at the hotel). I was so glad to see him since he had technical difficulties and couldn’t make it to our bike ride on Monday.

5. An extra bikey commute
Last night I decided to ride my bike all the way home from work. That’s about 20 miles, assuming I don’t get lost ( I printed out my turn-by-turn directions and studied the map a bit before I left and I still got a bit lost when I made a turn one street early and couldn’t quite figure out what happened).

It took me 1hr 45min, but I’m planning to shave it down to 1hr 30min once I find the best route. When summer rolls around, I’m planning to do this ride 2-3 times a week since there will be more than enough daylight to get home. There were some dark sketch bits near Santa Clara University, so I just need to find a better-lit road to ride on. But yes, definitely something to look forward to this summer!

If anyone out there wants to join me for the ride down one of these days, please let me know!

Written by Reese

February 19, 2010 at 10:13 am

Posted in just life

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. me likes this weekly review. i think i am going to copy you so that i force myself into writing something on a weekly basis.

    thoreauly77/ian

    February 19, 2010 at 12:00 pm

    • Ha, that’s awesome! Now I’ll add you to my feed reader so I can read them.

      Reese

      February 22, 2010 at 8:15 am

  2. mmm…likin’ your five 4 friday posts. sorta a nice way to filter the week 😉

    maomau

    February 23, 2010 at 4:49 pm

    • Thanks!! It’s definitely been a nice way to look back and find the best parts of the week.

      Reese

      February 24, 2010 at 10:21 pm


Leave a Reply

