a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Five on Friday: Week Eight

with 2 comments

I found myself a calendar with the weeks numbered, so I officially know what it is Week Eight of 2010. I know I could have counted this on a calendar myself (jeez, manually?) but it is just so much easier to read it off a chart.

Right.. Week Eight. Good times. I guess this is lucky week according to Chinese people. They sure love the number eight. Of course, we don’t pay any attention to this stuff in our house, but just thought I would randomly mention it.

1. Fancypants outing
This Monday, I got myself invited to an Exclusive Event at a Fancypants Venue in Palo Alto so I brought along my friend N as my +1. Not only were the drinks free, but so was the food and my oh my was the food tasty. They had this one seared scallop with creamy leeks dish that was a-m-a-z-i-n-g. Yeah. That good. We also met a random guy that we kept running into all night; we talked about the food a lot. There were also two random white girls who kept showing up at super weird moments; I think they were trying to hit on N, but they were doing a terrible job at it and we were just confused by the whole thing.

2. Toffee time
This weekend I hit up the Campbell Farmers Market and perused the ridiculous bevy of fresh produce (really Californians, you are spoiled like crazy). I bought a bunch of random stuff, trying to mimic what a CSA would send us in a weekly share. I find this method to be much more economical than actually joining a CSA that chooses the produce for me. Plus, I like shopping for food (there I said it!).

The best part of the market was when I discovered the R&J Toffees stall. Oh. My. God. So let me preface this with the fact that I do not like candies in general, but I have an unending weakness for toffee. And not just any old toffee… it has to have as little chocolate on it as possible and be crunchy and not too chewy.

Let’s just say that the toffee sold by R&J Toffees is exactly what I like. Yes. I will be riding my bike down to the Campbell market more often to get myself some nice Sunday coffee and toffee. Miam miam!

3. A wonderful ride home
Since I decided that I would ride all the way home at least once a week (I’m aiming for twice a week by the time summer starts), it’s been pretty exciting finding out that I can ride the entire way without discomfort. I was worried about muscle soreness, but it turns out that I am sufficiently fit to get myself home. I suppose that when I start riding home 2-3 times a week, I may start to really feel it, but this is why I need to slowly ramp up to it and not just go to it right away. Time, baby, time.

4. For the love of capitalism
I have to say that these days, I love to shop. My current size combined with the current fashion, I seem to fit into a wide array of clothes that I adore! Every time I go shopping, I can find at least 2-3 items that fit me well. I totally blame this on the fact that there are a lot of romantic, floaty clothes in stores now. I typically buy these floaty clothes and then cinch the waist with a belt to show off the hourglass figure. So yes, I have been enjoying the capitalist circus lately.

5. Public transit
I ride public transit just about everyday to get to work. It saves me the headache of driving and having to deal with traffic in my car. Besides that, I get to ride my bike on either end and that’s always a good thing in my mind.

This week, Caltrain had a rough day (I know, understatement). In the morning, a train hit an abandoned car, causing system-wide delays throughout rush hour. That same evening, a train hit a pedestrian, causing delays once again. Bad times for Caltrain.

Regardless of the occasional delays and frustrations, I still appreciate having a train that pretty much takes me right where I need to go. It’s not perfect, but it gets the job done.

Written by Reese

February 26, 2010 at 11:05 am

Posted in just life

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. can this really be week 8 of 2010? because it’s week 8 of my semester at school but school didn’t start until January 11… oh, wait, I see, you’re counting the week at the end, so week 8 ended on Friday for you / I get it now. never mind. πŸ™‚

    R&J Toffees sound fantastic!! πŸ™‚

    carolyn (girlreaction)

    February 28, 2010 at 10:35 pm

  2. Hmm… nope I’m just reading it off my calendar on my phone, which counts the first week of 2010 as the one starting with January 4 (my calendar has Monday-starts).

    Reese

    March 1, 2010 at 8:21 am


Leave a Reply

