a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Getting nowhere fast

with 4 comments

If I can just pedal hard enough

Hmm… "getting nowhere fast" isn’t true at all, but it is a good caption for that photo, huh? That is actually a bike rack that is bolted to the ground so I didn’t get anywhere at all riding that fancy penny farthing!

Anyway, we’ll be getting somewhere soon, but it probably won’t be terribly fast. The Mister and I have decided to upgrade our apartment from 1 bedroom to 2 and move up to SF. We’ll probably do the one-month rent overlap so that we can leisurely move our stuff. Very exciting stuff, I swear. I can’t stop smiling and feeling really upbeat about the whole thing, even if I hate packing all our stuff up and then carrying heavy things up stairs. Wait, can’t Mister do all the heavy lifting for me? That’s what he’s here for, right?

One very nice thing about moving is that we will throw away or donate a lot of our stuff. We’re also planning to slowly change all our furniture so we can finally have a more adult flat. I can’t wait, really.

Our daily commutes will be longer, but I think it will be worthwhile living in SF, since we have a number of friends who live there. What I’m really looking forward to is the chance to hang out with them during the week and go to SF events without the horrendous travel time. I’ll even be able to finally do some night rides with my bikey friends without having to take a 1 hour 40 minute local train ride back to SJ.

That said, I’m really going to miss my bikey family down here in San Jose. I know there is a big bike community up in SF, but SJ has a a huge bike culture as well and I am really going to miss all the fun social rides and all the great people I’ve met here. Don’t worry guys, we won’t be too far away from each other!

PS – I realise that it is April 1st and that maybe you think this is some really elaborate prank and we’re not moving anywhere and haha the jokes on you. But it’s true, I swear!

PPS – Worst day in the world to announce news EVER.

Written by Reese

April 1, 2010 at 10:37 am

Posted in just life

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. *sob* The bike peeps of San Jose will miss you!

    Yokota Fritz

    April 1, 2010 at 11:15 am

  2. reese, where are you guys moving to? we’re very likely going to end up in the mission come july/august, and hopefully will run into you? cheers.

    jack

    April 1, 2010 at 11:31 am

  3. wow big news! that’s exciting!

    kat156

    April 1, 2010 at 11:14 pm

  4. @Fritz: Aww… Once we get a car rack, I might keep doing my twice weekly ride from Palo Alto down to SJ and then meet Mister and have him drive us up.

    @jack: We’ll be in SOMA, pretty close to the northeast section of the Mission! Ya, let’s hope for running into each other for sure.

    @Kat: Ya!! Exciting stuff!

    Reese

    April 3, 2010 at 10:27 am


Leave a Reply

