a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Five on Friday: Week 13

with 4 comments

A measure of success

Lucky week 13… Big changes ahead, people! Ah…. I am really so excited that I can’t stop smiling and must look like a complete idiot riding my bike around with a giant sh*t-eating grin on my face. That’s ok. I don’t really mind it at all.

1. New growth
I have begun the very excruciatingly slow process of growing my hair out from the quite short crop I’ve had it in the past few months. Of course, the problem now is that I have a sort of mullet-like haircut (which I guess I could try to pass off as late 90s Japanese-style hair) and it’s quite shaggy. When my hair is short, the ends tend to curl very pleasingly, but as it gets a bit longer, it becomes very straight and stiff. Then as it grows longer, the ends will curl a little again. This middle stage is the worst part of growing out my hair, since it’s very straight and tough to control, but I’m trying to tough it out and rock the teeny tiny ponytail.

2. New place
Ok, so I already wrote about this, but we have a brand spanking new flat up in SF and we are now officially SF residents! Yay, now we get to fight for parking with other people, figure out how exactly we are supposed to do this mandatory composting thing, meet our new neighbours, and bike bike bike all around town. Needless to say, I am excited as heck for all these new fun things to do.

3. Renewed passion for the bikey life
Sadly, bikey life has taken a backseat to house-hunting and flat-viewing, and will possibly take a short break while we move this month (nevermind that my train pass is for the completely wrong zones after we move), but soon it will be back in full force. Biking just makes me so damned happy that I am so excited to get back to bike-commuting and figuring out a fun way to get in the extra miles on the way home to our new place. Maybe I’ll do a butterlap once or twice a week after I hop off the train in SF just to get a nice ride in. Who else is in?

4. New friends
Well, I’m not really planning on making new friends just yet, but I do know that I’ll be able to spend more time with my existing friends up in SF and will probably end up meeting new people as well. That’s just how we roll. We’re like nomads who change cities every 2-5 years, immersing ourselves in new friend groups, experiencing life and making memories with them, and then moving on to the next place. I hope that once we start breeding we will settle down at least long enough for the kid to go to the same high school for all 3-4 years.

5. And a love for everything
Man. This week, my heart is just brimming with happiness and love (did someone slip drugs into my coffee?). It is SO cheesy, but it is so true. The optimist in me says, "This is the way to live life, Reese. Don’t worry too much about the negative things; they always work themselves out, don’t they? If you work towards the happiness you want with wide-open eyes and a conscious awareness of how you affect the world around you, you will find it."

I know it’s really lame writing it out like this, but I am so indescribably happy this week. I’m completely and utterly in love with my friends, my Mister, even the cat when she is misbehaving and overly needly. I love my life right at this very moment, I loved it yesterday and the day before that, and I love how bright the future looks ahead. Always moving forward. Always.

Written by Reese

April 2, 2010 at 9:24 am

Posted in just life

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. it’s always good to enjoy the happy times to the fullest while they are there.

    Jeff D

    April 2, 2010 at 10:16 am

  2. how very exciting…happy for you

    Lucy

    April 3, 2010 at 1:11 am


Leave a Reply

