a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Okonomiyaki!

with 4 comments

Un autre

I never realised how much I love good okonomiyaki until I started hunting around for good places to eat near San Jose.

What is okonomiyaki? It’s sort of a Japanese pizza or pancake. It consists of chopped cabbage in a batter that is then ladled out onto a skillet and fried on either side until brown. Then it’s typically topped with Japanese kewpie mayonnaise and okonomiyaki sauce, a brown smokey sauce similar to katsu sauce. Some people will top the whole thing with bonito shavings and/or chopped scallions. It’s served hot and you cut it into wedges like a pizza to eat it.

The last time I had it was in NJ, at a place in the Mitsuwa Plaza, and it never occurred to me to look for it here until I stumbled across a couple postings on Chowhound about it.

And lo and behold… I have fallen back in love with okonomiyaki and have eaten it at 3 places in the past month or so! Where or where can I get this heavenly food, you ask? Well, let me where where I’ve been so far in the bay area. I’m no expert, really.

Mifune-Don, SF Japantown

This is my favourite so far. It’s light and airy and they add just the right amount of sauces on top so it’s not overpowering. Plus, they add a LOT of shaved bonito (see photo) and serve it on a hot stone plate that keeps it crispy and warm.

Sushi Masa, San Jose

This one was good, but it was really thick and as a result, was a bit soggy in the middle, but crispy on the edges. Mmm… I liked the flavour of it, but I definitely prefer Mifune-Don’s okonomiyaki to this. If you’re in the south bay, though, it’s a good alternative if you’ve got a craving.

Namu stand, at the Ferry Building farmers market

I wanted to like this one, but it was only ok. It’s a Korean version, so they use kimchi as the cabbage, but they don’t chop it up, so it’s tough to cut into bite-size pieces with chopsticks. The edges were really crispy and the whole thing was quite thin and not dough-y. I’ve heard people call it tough, but I kinda liked the chewiness of it. Overall, though, I wouldn’t get it again. (Photo below)

Le deuxième お好み焼き

Written by Reese

April 6, 2010 at 11:14 am

Posted in just life

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. HATE YOU! 🙂

    Jeff D

    April 6, 2010 at 12:55 pm

  2. Great post! – there are a few more spots in the Bay Area to try for okonomiyaki – I like Genki Ramen and Majiku Ramen as well as Mifune Don. List at http://okonomiyakiworld.com Good luck!

    Okonomi_Yakity

    April 6, 2010 at 5:34 pm

  3. @Jeff: Love you too!! Silly boy… just come visit!
    @Okonomiyakity: Yes, Genki Ramen is on my list for sure!

    Reese

    April 7, 2010 at 6:55 am

  4. Easier said than done!

    Jeff D

    April 7, 2010 at 11:43 am


Leave a Reply

