a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

We like to eat dumplings at my house

leave a comment »

su jiao zi

I had this guy (up there) over to our new place earlier this week. We took a little field trip to Rainbow Grocery, which is conveniently within walking distance from the new flat. Wow guys. That place is pretty damned awesome. It’s expensive, but it has a lot of really random exotic stuff like giant jars of spices and loose tea, bins of dry goods including different types of granola, and a huge selection of cheese I’ve never heard of before. Wow. I will definitely be back in the future to check out everything.

After, we went to Trader Joe’s (also conveniently within walking distance of the new flat) and picked up a few more essentials, i.e., bananas and a jar of tomato sauce for me. Of course, I forgot to get another tube of toothpaste, so we will continue using Colgate until I remember to get some Tom’s of Maine.

At this point it was pretty late and I hadn’t had any supper, so we went back to my place and I decided to makes some dumplings. We buy frozen dumplings from a little place down in Cupertino because they make the best ones we’ve had here so far.

(Just so you know, we do make our own dumplings sometimes, but we eat them right away and they’re gone in a day or two since we’re too lazy to freeze them.)

The ones we buy are thick-skinned Chinese-style dumplings, and they have a lot of different fillings, including one called Su (vegetarian) that is super tasty and my favourite. It has mushrooms, noodles, and greens in there, and maybe a few other things too. Now, don’t get these confused with Japanese gyoza; the Japanese version of dumplings have a much thinner skin that makes them perfect for pan-frying to a crisp.

When it comes to preparing dumplings, we either pan-fry them (guotie aka pot stickers) or we boil them. I usually prefer to pan-fry them since I like a crispy outside, but I wasn’t feeling like it that night, so instead I decided to boil them. The nice thing about boiling dumplings is that it takes minimal effort, I can usually eyeball them to know when they’re just right (it’s my secret superpower), and it’s a healthy way to prepare them.

One of the perks of boiling dumplings is that you can then drink the broth that results from it. Depending on the type of dumpling and how they’re made, the broth can vary a lot. Some dumpling makers put extra flour on the outside of the dumplings, so when you boil them the broth ends up being very starchy and not very good. Luckily, the dumplings we buy don’t have extra flour on the outside and make a very clean, clear soup. The vegetarian dumplings, in particular, make a very light broth.

My friend liked the broth so much that he ended up drinking two bowls of it while happily stuffing his dumpling-hole with dumplings dipped in rooster sauce and shoyu. Good times chez Reese.

Written by Reese

April 15, 2010 at 1:59 pm

Posted in just life

Leave a Reply

