a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Everyday series, Part I

with 4 comments

I decided to start a brand new photo series. I haven’t been making photos at all lately, and have been only doing snapshots with the camera phone. Don’t get me wrong, the camera phone isn’t half bad, and I can prop it up and do self-timer shots pretty easily, like this one below:

Strap 'er down tight or she'll get away

I set the phone with the clamshell open on an empty seat, turned on the self-timer, and ran over to Blue and posed. I’m sure I looked like a psycho to anyone else who might have walked by and wondered what I was doing, but I got the shot. Yay.

So anyway, I’ve noticed that I take a lot more photos with the camera on my mobile than I used to. I can’t help it. It’s convenient, I have my mobile with me everywhere I go, and the photos aren’t that bad are they?

(Wait, are they??)

Actually, I don’t really care if the photos are bad anymore. I think I may be giving up on the idea of becoming a "good photographer" and settle for being "a photographer" instead. I think I’d rather go around documenting my life and what I’m doing instead of trying so hard to be good at something that I don’t really excel at.

Boo hoo.

No really, it’s okay. I’m totally okay with it.

Right. So this series I decided to start, the Everyday Series, will just be a (rather lame) collection of photos that I feel show my everyday life, the things I do everyday that I don’t always think to photograph. So far, I have a shot of myself eating dinner:

Stuffing my face

Yep. That’s me, stuffing my face with boiled dumplings that we bought earlier that evening down in South Bay from our favourite dumpling house.

What’s kinda funny is that while I was eating, Frannie yelled to me from another room that he knew I was eating out of the big plastic bowl and dipping my dumplings into the little dishes we share with the cat (is that gross? I wash them thoroughly!). How right he was. That’s exactly what I was doing. He even guessed that I was either sitting at the sofa, or sitting next to the window at the table. Wow. Am I really this predictable?

But yes, that shows how I usually eat dinner. Sometimes I eat with Frannie, but usually I eat in silence by myself at that table. There’s no TV or music on. I sit next to the window while the cat either sits on the opposite end of the table or on our second stool. If Frannie’s there, he sits on the second stool and doesn’t let the cat near the table at all (he’s so mean to her). I’m much more lax and I let her sit wherever she wants: on top of the table, on Frannie’s stool, on the back of my stool, in my lap, etc.

I wonder if these photos will be interesting to anyone who visit my Flickr (or this blog site), but in the end, I do these little projects for myself and not for anyone else. I hope someone might find them interesting, but I mostly like having a little fun with photography and these projects let me do that.

Written by Reese

April 22, 2010 at 1:34 pm

Posted in just life

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i like this!

    i totally take more photos with my phone than any other device. it’s just easy and so easy to capture little snippets of your day. plus i feel less of a goober.

    kat156

    April 22, 2010 at 9:21 pm

    • I do like the mobile phone’s camera, but goddamn the photo quality really SUCKS ass. Ha… I think at some point I’m going to look back at these photos and wonder why the hell I didn’t suck it up and bring a real camera with me. But then again, depends what I am doing. Right now I’m more interested in sharing the snippets, not really making art (whatever the hell that stuff is anyway).

      Reese

      April 24, 2010 at 9:28 am

  2. You made me smile with the eating out of the shared cat bowl – that’s something I’d do! My wife is a bit funny with ‘dual use’ items. My logic is that if you wash them, they’re not dirty right? šŸ™‚

    I think your photo series is a good idea in principle, because the mundane can actually serve as interesting in years to come. However, the issue might be the overall quality – even film snapshots from 50 odd years ago beat most cameraphones into the ground in terms of quality.

    Take care

    AtomicP

    Peter B

    April 23, 2010 at 12:57 pm

    • If I treat these like snapshots, then I may not really care about what’s going to happen in 50 years. But I get what you mean. What I really need is just to get a very small compact camera that I can bring anywhere with me. Or I dunno… change my mindset.

      Reese

      April 24, 2010 at 9:33 am


Leave a Reply

