a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

The way we move on this earth

leave a comment »

Houston and Varick

We went to NYC this past weekend to see my parents and a good number of friends. So good to get out of town, but I was still so happy to come back home to the whiny meow-meow kitty cat that felt abandoned all weekend. I think she feared we would never come back.

The best parts of the NYC trip were walking aimlessly around everywhere, stopping to eat and drink with friends, and lots and lots of photo making. It’s been a while since I’ve been on foot with a camera, so it felt like a whole new experience. I took a lot of photos, and already developed two of the rolls, finding a surprising number of shots that I liked.

The trip made me realise that I need to do more photo walkabouts around town, and I have since resolved to do just that starting… now! I’ve been riding my bike everywhere and it seems that riding has so consume my life that I’ve forgotten what it’s like to walk around with a camera in my hand again! Walking is definitely so much more pedestrian than riding my bike, but sometimes I just need that change of pace to remind me of a different way of seeing the world around me.

Bike riding is just such a well-integrated part of my life at this point that I don’t know if I’ll ever stop using it for the majority of my transportation, but yes, I do need to remember that photo-walking is still fun too!

11:38

Ah… how can I not love riding my bike when it’s beautiful out? It’s so freeing and wonderful. Stress and problems just melt away when I’m out riding. Sure, it’s like any kind of exercise that releases feel-good endorphins, but I also take so much pleasure in the knowledge that my body is strong and capable of propelling itself around. It feels good to feel useful and fit.

Written by Reese

May 6, 2010 at 4:40 pm

Posted in just life

Leave a Reply

