a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Five on Friday: Jet-setters

with 2 comments

We took a weekend trip to NYC to see my parents and a bunch of friends and it was pretty… well… amazing! It wasn’t that the city itself was so amazing, but it was just so great to see so many friends packed into two short days.

1. Well hello, parents

We met with my parents for some tasty Korean lunch and it was so good to see them. My mom squealed that I’m so thin now, even though I think I’m the same weight as the last time she saw me. Whatever. I’m taking that compliment and running with it! Thanks, mom! They’re doing pretty well and I was really happy that we got to see each other.

2. Film time

I got some major photo-making time in over the weekend, mostly shooting with my Nikon 35mm camera. I always like to shoot medium format the most, but it’s just so bulky to carry around, especially when we’ll be out walking around for the whole day. Ah, 35mm… I missed you! I missed you, film, and I didn’t even know how much I missed you.

I’ve been shooting mostly digital crap with my camera phone and my teeny, and sadly, the photos just look like crap to me. I don’t have much control over framing with my camera phone and exposure is pretty much a crapshoot altogether. Sure, I guess I could do massive post-processing (uh… Hipstamatic anyone???), but I’m not a huge fan of that and I’ve been steadily disgusted by folks who have iPhones and are Hipstamtic-ing EVERY goddamn photo. Seriously. It doesn’t make your bad photo any better when you make it look retarded like that.

But anyway, I’ve really missed shooting film and holding a regular camera instead of my silly teeny and camera phones.

Dessert corner

3. Weeknight outings

Now that we live in SF, it’s a lot easier for us to go out at night with friends in town. In the past, if I wanted to meet up with someone in SF, I’d have to worry about taking a train back down to SJ, which is a long ride! I always hated taking the trains back home after rush hour because they become locals and if I miss one, I’m stuck waiting for a long time for the next one.

Of course, I went out with friends down in SJ too and I really miss hanging out with them. I guess it’s just that when I lived in SJ, I never saw my SF friends. Now that we live in SF, we get to see them more often, so it’s a nice change of pace. I still miss the south bay folks though!

4. Go team!!

So my Team Bike Challenge team is doing so well. We’re still not the best in the world, but we’re doing okay and everyone on the team is logging commutes so far. It’s pretty awesome. I am really enjoying racking up the miles and secretly competing with the other people on my team. I’m not the strongest rider, but I’m trying to put in my miles and earn points. Right now, I’m beating the novice in miles, but not in points (because he accrues them much faster than I do).

5. Fabulous Times with Frannie

We had such a wonderful trip back east this past weekend and Fran and I have been really feeling the love lately. It sure seems that the best way for us to travel is for me to plan the majority of the activities and for him to take care of the hotel and travel arrangements. This seems to work the best since I am usually more picky about what we are doing and I need to make sure we have enough activities lined up (contingency plans!) so we don’t just get bored, and Frannie likes just following me around and not having to worry about where to go since I usually have all the transport figured out too.

So that’s exactly how our trip went. He took care of getting the flight and hotel arranged, and I figured out what to do and how to get there. It’s really great when we can find a system that works well for us and it is successful. How nerdy of us!

Written by Reese

May 7, 2010 at 9:24 am

Posted in just life

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. dude sounds like an AWESOME WEEKEND!!! yay for you two. sadly i have become a hipstamatic freak. πŸ™‚ especially in the last few weeks of school when i just could not add a camera to the amount of crap i was already carrying around. πŸ™‚

    carolyn

    May 7, 2010 at 10:15 am

    • Thanks for stopping and reading, Carolyn! It was a super awesome time!

      Reese

      May 9, 2010 at 9:23 pm


Leave a Reply

