a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

No-knead bread

with 4 comments

I finally gave in to the no-knead bread craze of 2006 (so I’m fashionably late to the party) and tried the recipe. I utterly botched the entire recipe because I can’t follow directions, but somehow it still turned out alright. Look!

Fresh bread

I will try this recipe again, probably with a couple modifications like changing up the baking pan and trying to actually follow the suggested rise times.

I mixed it up on Sunday afternoon and let it sit until I got home on Monday night, which is clearly more than the suggested 18 hours. When I got to the dough, it was not big and puffy and dotted with holes as the recipe said, but it was bigger than it originally was and sorta puffy and there might have been holes at some point.

When I did the second rise, I did use this little aluminum foil sling type deal that I slid directly into the pre-heated pan, but next time I’ll plan to just rise it in an oiled bowl and dump it into the pan when it’s done. Really, people. I don’t even want to try doing this with towels as the original recipe suggests. That sounds like a bit of an OCD horrorshow to me! No mess like that for me, no siree Bob!

And as for the pan, I used a rather large stockpot as the container, probably 10-12 quarts, and I think it was a little too large. The recipe suggests using a 6-8 quart pan, but some people have suggested using a 4 quart pan for a higher loaf. The stock pot I used also has plastic lined handles and pot lid knob, so I had to cover them with aluminum foil in the hopes that they wouldn’t melt at 450F. Next time, I’ll try making it in one of our smaller all-metal pots, maybe with a parchment liner to aid in clean-up.

Anyway, my loaf ended up rather like a giant ciabatta. Not a bad thing, but not exactly what I wanted out of this.

But no matter… as hard as I tried to botch this, it still came out really nicely, with a chewy inside and a crisp outside. Not quite the perfect sandwich bread, but most certainly a very nice hunk-of-bread-with-a-bowl-of-soup bread.

Written by Reese

May 11, 2010 at 4:42 pm

Posted in just life

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I didn’t use a pan when i did it. Just a tray and I made baguettes. you just have to make sure to mist it before it goes in the oven.

    Jeff D

    May 12, 2010 at 7:26 am

    • I’ll probably just make it in the same pot again and see how it goes.

      Reese

      May 12, 2010 at 9:46 pm

      • My dutch over worked really well for the round Italian style loaf I did last summer (I think I sent you the recipe for that way back when.)

        Jeff D

        May 15, 2010 at 11:28 am

  2. Your bread making inspired me to start making bread. It’s great to read about bread and see the pictures you take, but I can only imaging the taste and smell and the process of trying out different things and the surprise at some things working and some things turning out in different ways. Cooking is so important and wonderful and I’m glad you share this!

    Chris Campbell

    May 15, 2010 at 8:03 am


Leave a Reply

